A Breakup With My Bestfriend

A Best Friend Breakup Story

RAINNA
Real

--

It's ironic how this month is celebrated as a love month besides Black History Month, yet it is becoming a heartbreak month for me.

A year ago this month, my ex-boyfriend broke up with me. Now, my ex-best friend broke up with me this month.

It is not new to me for people to come and go, and when I had to leave a friendship. My best friend, Rona, used to be my co-worker. We have gone through a lot in life and shared the most difficult times. We have shared a lot of vulnerability, depression, and life problems. We were there for each other in good and bad times. We also fought and had misunderstandings.

Rona was a good friend. One day, she came to work to give me food because she noticed how tired I was working two full-time jobs. No one has ever done it to me. She also provided me with advice when I was feeling sad. We laughed at silly jokes and got our backs together.

But recently, I've had enough of her whining.

Rona is depressed. She is envious and insecure about her current circumstances. I helped her as much as I could. I told her to go for therapy like I did back in 2020–2021. I bought her notebook journals so she could write down her thoughts and help her ease her overthinking. I also bought her a gym bag so she…

--

--

RAINNA
Real
Writer for

Currently writing a memoir• I write about JESUS, life lessons, health, relationships & self-improvement•Featured in Thought Catalog & Elephant Journal🇵🇭🇨🇦