About Love and Other Confusions

The gap between me and my daughter is huge. Not because we are not living together, or she is rebellious, or wild. No, nothing like that. She is a normal teenage girl. Even too serious for her age, what makes the gap even bigger?

Valans
Real
2 min readJun 13, 2023

--

Photo by Helena Lopes on Unsplash

She was very young when she told me (after my shock about some things that she knows, I don’t remember exactly what it was) when she told me: “Mom, I can’t avoid information”. I looked at her, pretty amazed, realizing how right she was. She knows so much, and technology makes it possible.

Of course, that doesn’t mean that she knows how to live. Information (not knowledge, because it is very different) is not life, no matter how useful it seemed to be. Life is not even knowledge, it makes learning possible if we dedicate our lives to it, but life as it is a practical thing, that can not be taught by someone else, anyone, especially viral information.

My parents were high school sweethearts. They have been together for fifty-four years. It wasn’t an easy life they lived, but the gap between them and me is much smaller than between me and my beautiful descendant. I also had high school sweethearts, went to University, had TV, phone, then after a while self phone and internet, but most things were the same. Not to mention art and the fact that my dad and I even today love the same music.

The gap that I am trying to understand is the gap of time. Time is speeding as we breed, and thanks to technology, it will go faster with every breath we take.

So, I don’t understand modern music, literature, or philosophy, which seems so simplified. I am confused with relations between adolescents, their friendships, and romances and their interests make me feel totally out of this world.

But there is one thing that can not be touched by this terrifying time gap.

It is called love, and it is immutable, unchangeable, and the same for good. It goes beyond any understanding, knowledge, education, or lifestyle and makes us capable to connect with everything and everyone. It is timeless and worth every effort it requires.

And no time gap can swallow it and stand between us and other human beings with their unique, unrepeatable eyes, no matter how odd they may seem, and how different from anything familiar to us.

And will forever make it possible for us to connect with Others through the time that passes so dizzyingly fast.

--

--

Valans
Real

Teacher, writer, theology bachelor, philosophy MA