Am I On My Own?

I always have been

May Khin Thant
Real
3 min readJun 1, 2023

--

Photo from Pinterest
Taylor Swift on Spotify

One of the songs that has been on repeat lately is You’re on Your Own, Kid by Taylor Swift.

You’ve probably heard of this song. If you haven’t, you can listen on Spotify via the link I provided above.

This is one of the songs that resonates with me as a messy, young adult. I felt like I just read someone’s journal, and it felt like a warm hug.

And it got me thinking

“Am I on my own?”

The answer is yes. I am in fact on my own now.

No matter how much I want the answer to be no, it will be yes at the end of the day.

I am on my own — I have to be.

And this is exactly how most young adults feel.

We feel like we have to be on our own at all times. Society forces us to be completely independent as soon as we turn 18.

The thing is, we’re not ready for it.

I understand that we should be “on our own”. But isn’t it ridiculous that there is not even proper guidance on how to choose college classes or how to drop out?

I watched my parents getting old, and it hit me that one day I will be completely on my own. Get a job, rent a place, cook my own food, make appointments by myself, and make a living by myself cause there will be no one to provide for my needs but me.

It also means that I have to socialize with other people more and more, which I’m not good at.

It will be a lie if I said I’m not scared. Because I am.

I’m scared to enter corporate work.

I’m scared to make a plan of which foods I’m eating three times a day and also have to cook them by myself.

I’m scared to make appointments by myself.

I’m scared that I will not make enough money for myself and my cat in this economy.

I’m scared that I have to socialize with a lot of people from now on.

But at the end of the day, things will turn out better than I imagine. Because it always does.

The worries that I have are most of the time just in my head, and they always turn out better than I imagined.

Let’s just take it day by day and hope for the best 🙌.

From Taylor’s NYU grad speech

“How do I give advice to this many people about their life choices? I won’t.

Scary news is: You’re on your own now.

Cool news is: You’re on your own now.”

Lyrics of You’re on Your Own, Kid by Taylor Swift - from Spotify

I’m glad you are here 🤎. Feel free to look around.

🔱 Give me feedback HERE

🔱 All my links

🔱 You can buy me a cafe here if you want to support me. Not expected but appreciated ❤

--

--