Cleansed By Fire?

Broken, confused, sorrowful and lost.

Isteb Grah- Ellie Grah
Real
2 min readJun 15, 2023

--

Photo by Adi Goldstein on Unsplash

On June 8th 2023, our house burned down, and my dog died from the smoke. I tried to get her out 2 times, but the fireman wouldn’t let me go back, and since then our lives have been chaotic, full of loss and confusion.

We survived, but nothing else did.

I miss my dog. I miss my home. And I miss my husband being able to sleep. We lost everything in that fire including CPAP, feeding tube pump, and meds. Believe me, we lost everything. Most people do not understand the true meaning of losing things like that.

The first thing they want to know about is humans, pets, and clothes. Honest, realistic questions, but no one has asked “How are you sleeping without your CPAP?” “How can you eat without your feeding pump?” “Why won’t Walgreens replace your brother's breathing meds when they know the house burned to the ground?”

I’m not complaining that people don’t think of those things. I wouldn’t probably, but now that I’m going through it, there’s just so much involved in the statement, “My house burned down and my dog died”. My dog, who was my best friend.

I feel I’ll never be the same again. But it’s too soon to know if that’ll be for the positive or the negative. And it crushes my heart watching my husband and brother go through all this loss is horrible!

For anyone out there that has gone through a traumatic experience but was labelled common like mine was, please know that you are a hero! This is horrible and confusing, but we are blessed, and our needs continue to be met.

I pray all yours will be too!

--

--

Isteb Grah- Ellie Grah
Real

I'm known by Isteb Grah, I'm new to writing, although, I've written poems & stories my whole life. I just never shared them publicly. Poetry is my #1 love.