Diary of an Introvert

I am a master of my own thoughts.

Maviah Gul
Real
2 min readAug 1, 2023

--

Photo by Konstantin Dyadyun on Unsplash

I am an introvert and don’t like to talk much, be it with my family, friends, or loved ones. I can listen to what people have to say for hours but to that, I will only answer in 1-2 sentences.

I can’t stop people from talking, and I can’t interrupt them because I find it very rude.

Growing up like this has been very different. I remember scribbling when I was a teenager because I didn’t like to talk. At that age, I didn’t know what it was — why I was different and why couldn’t I make friends or be like others. My sister used to come to my rescue; she was the one who made friends for me.

It’s very difficult for an introvert to convince others. People always judge you on the basis of how much you expose yourself but the reality is, you yourself know that you are capable of everything. Yet the world has made its own judgement.

I have always wanted a person in my life who could understand me just by my expressions.

I have come to realize that I am more of an introvert now than before. I have become a lot more shy in expressing my feelings, and there are a lot of instances where my introversion is misunderstood by my parents and my friends.

So, to let my emotions out, knowing that I can’t express myself to everyone, I have found a weapon to ease my mind: Writing.

Writing has been a rescue to me; a therapy, a default gateway I tend to go towards whenever my heart and mind are full of emotions, and when I don’t want to expose my feelings. I open the seal of my heart only when I am writing so that’s why, in its best way, writing has become my favourite hobby, as well as a keeper.

I am not a public shy person.
I am not weak.
I am not socially awkward.

I just tend to focus on my own affairs rather than on others, and on embracing who I am.

Everybody is not made for speeches.

There are many people out there like me who can’t express themselves and are afraid of openly letting themselves out. There’s nothing bad with the way we are, and our introversion isn’t something that we or anyone can fix. If anything, it’s meant to be understood, accepted and embraced rather than changed.

Thanks for reading. If you find this article useful, feel free to clap and share as much as possible.

--

--

Maviah Gul
Real
Writer for

I am on a journey to start something for myself.