For Those Who Have Hurt Me

Jazunim
Real
Published in
3 min readAug 18, 2023

Thank you

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

There was a time in my life when I thought I had everything, only to realize that I had nothing at all. I was so focused on running towards my dreams which essentially, referred to the life opposite of my own.

It’s when things are great and calm that the storm hits. I thought I knew myself well. However, I was different in my environment’s eyes.

The idea of knowing the perspective of my cherished people is a wake-up call. Yet, even if it stings every time I think about it, I choose to be grateful. Because when I was left with nothing but my own breath, I realized how good my life was.

Sometimes, when people hurt us, we tend to inflict the same pain. It may not be on an equal footing, but it is in our nature to reciprocate the feelings that we receive. However, it is not the same for others.

There was a period of my life where I felt inadequately loved. I began comparing myself to others and I often envied how good their lives were. Then, I looked at the things I lacked, the things a girl like me should have, and the love that I should rightfully receive. When my thoughts wandered down this path, I became ignorant of the things that I already had. Unconsciously.

I forgot to be grateful for having a mother because not all people have one. For having a hardworking father, because most daughters are without one. For having a supportive sibling, because most leave the nest and start a new family without looking back. For having a complete family, because not all people are blessed to have one.

Photo by Alicia Christin Gerald on Unsplash

I forgot the value of the people in my life because my eyes were narrowed to the people I wanted to have. I forgot the value of the things I had when I was wishing for them before. My hands kept asking for more without knowing how full I was.

Process by process, I understood that there will be times when we will feel how life is unfair, and think ‘How am I the only idiot experiencing hardships?’ Yet, these harsh situations are teaching us to be humble. If we only look up, we will see how far we have come. How far you have come.

That’s why it is necessary to slow down and be grateful. Being grateful fills our hearts with appreciation for all the times we have tried and never quit. It improves our relationship with people because we recognize their value and appreciate their existence.

I admit that it is not easy to be grateful. Sometimes people overlook this expression because it is misunderstood as self-deprecating. If you feel that way, it means you are helpless and choose to lower yourself. While this feeling pertains to another, it is not right to ignore what your heart needs.

To be grateful means to be appreciative of your life. Even if things did not go the way you thought they would, be grateful for trying.

So, for those who have hurt me, even if it stings, thank you for being real.

Hi, there. I hope my stories made you smile. I am an accounting student aspiring to become a CPA lawyer. Unfortunately, the Medium Partner Program does not cover my country, and I am supporting my law studies through writing. I would greatly appreciate it if you supported me. No amount is big or small. Even if you can’t, that’s okay. Please consider buying me a coffee at buymeacoffee.com/bubonune. Thank you!

--

--

Jazunim
Real
Writer for

a self-supporting student by writing. I write late-night thoughts, realizations that matter, a bunch of anime and manga, and a tiny bit of accounting.