I Don't Feel Like ADULTING!!

Minahil Noor
Real
Published in
2 min readOct 14, 2023
Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

Recently, one of my very close friend’s father died. I was in genuine pain when I got to know the news. I decided to attend the funeral. Yet, I was so nervous. I didn’t know how to console my friend. What words could make her feel better? What can I do for her?

After that visit, suddenly, I felt like I was a grown-up. I’ll have to attend funerals, also weddings, get over that last semester’s friendship breakup, see my parents getting old, actually start to look for jobs and lastly, BE FINANCIALLY INDEPENDENT.

Last Year of University means getting your Projects, Thesis, Research and Internships done all at the same time. Decide the subject you want to specialize in. Be excellent at your internship, so they might hire you. Attend all Seminars and workshops, yet 80% attendance is a MUST.

We all hear that firstborns or Eldest children have the most responsibilities, or the MIDDLE CHILD gets the least attention but what about the youngest child? No one told them they had to see their siblings leaving either for higher studies or for making their own family, or to see their parents getting old, and from being everyone’s dearest to “yeah, I’m busy, talk to you later.”

We (the siblings) are not under the same roof anymore, and don’t get together much to have meals like before🤷‍♀️.

Also, the hidden words that say sort it out BY YOURSELF. You’re a grown-up now😒.

No one prepared me for this. And

yes

I don’t feel like adulting.

--

--

Minahil Noor
Real
Writer for

Still figuring out, Read and help me find out, haha.