I Want Freedom

(To be able to do what I want anytime)

Balqees Yusuf
Real
3 min readDec 31, 2023

--

Photo by Houcine Ncib on Unsplash

I thought being busy was the goal; what was known as being “successful.” I thought telling people how you don't have time is how they'll know you're becoming successful.

This is what I was taught in school, to trade time for money. Work per hour and get paid. No freedom; no time freedom nor location freedom. And most of the time, no financial freedom.

But, the more I learned, the more I realized that . . .

Busyness doesn’t equate to wealth
In fact, being busy is the opposite of being wealthy. I’m not saying that having time in the world to binge-watch TV and scroll the internet means you are free or wealthy. To the contrary, that’s a total waste of time and means you have nothing worthy of doing.

Tim Denning threw this to my face and I can’t help but agree 100%.

He said that when you have money, you have stored up time that you can redeem at any time. This makes you freer than someone who has time (busy) and can't go a day without working because they need the money.

When I was working as a 9-5er, I wouldn't go a day without going to work. I was working because I needed to have money. I was trading my time for money.

And most of the time, I didn't have time for the people in my life. I was so busy that I was unable to have some special time with myself. At that time, people saw me as someone who was working and busy but had nothing to show for it. How sad!!!

Sometimes, I got busy to the extent that I felt like a robot. I was working every night and day. No freedom. I was making a dime but not proud to say I was busy.

Now, I know that what I need is passive income. And can only do this by having . . .

Investments
You can't tell me you have money if the only thing you do with that money is show off, have status, seek to be the envy of many, and have no investments or assets somewhere that give you the money while you aren't there physically.

True wealth is having something that pops the money for you even while you're sleeping. That is called a lifetime investment.

You don’t even have to be there.

Gone are the days when the best investment was in real estate. Now, you can invest in anything online.

Like:

  • Selling an ebook or online course; or
  • Investing in stocks or other people’s businesses.

In fact, you don’t have to know the core aspect of the business. You just need to shift your mind to learning.

In no time, you'll realize that having an investment is true freedom if you get hold of it.

Ditch the status game
Oh, how I wanted to be the name on everyone's lips. How I wanted to be the talk of the internet; the person with the fancy job title like "Community Manager,” "Production Engineer,” and so on.

I wanted to be the person in charge. Someone that everyone wants to be like. But the more I keep learning, the more I ask myself questions such as,

Does this even give me the freedom I want?
Does this give me the peace of mind I have always yearned for?

Now, I realize that

  • I want a minimalist lifestyle
    I want to live a minimal life. I don’t want to be the talk of the people. I want to do what I enjoy, love the people around me, be healthy, have time for those I love, and have money that takes care of my needs.
  • I want to have a meaningful life
    I don't want to do things because I want to be seen. I want to do things that have true meaning. I want to utilize my purpose to help people around me.

I want to be free financially, in the aspect of time, and location too.

I just want freedom, nothing more.

--

--

Balqees Yusuf
Real
Writer for

Ghostwriter - open for projects. Building a one-woman business. Writes about writing, side hustle ideas and how I am improving my life day by day.