I Was In A Hurry To Show Off Until I Realize This

Balqees Yusuf
Real
Published in
3 min readDec 5, 2023
Photo by Andrej Nihil on Unsplash

At some point in my life, I was doing everything. Running from one business to another. Jumping from one skill to the other.

When I saw people showing their results about earning huge amounts of money from a particular business, I was ready to jump on that business.

I didn’t know what I was doing. I was only in for the result. But not what the business or skill entails.

I wanted to show off as well just like how everyone was doing. I wanted to let people know that I was not suffering. I wanted them to know that I had the money to get anything I wanted. I wanted to post pictures about how I'm enjoying life. I was greedy and compared my life to theirs.

When I started writing on medium as well, I was particular about the Stat. Most times, I felt so bad when I didn't get any engagement on my articles.

Some weeks back, I got 2k+ views on my stories for 1 week. I was super excited. I took a screenshot of the Stat and rushed to post it on Twitter. But, as I was about to hit the share button, something stuck in my mind.

I asked myself: am I doing this for people to be inspired or to show off to them? Unfortunately, the answer was the latter. Then, I deleted the post.

My reason for the post was to let people know that I'm getting results from my stories on Medium. To let them see that I'm becoming successful. But that's not what I wanted my life to entail.

I am not in for the people to know how successful I am. But to be inspired when they read or hear my success story.

In a world where it's easy for you to see how people are living their best lifes. The places they visit, the last restaurant they ate their last dinner. The influencer they recently met and the luxurious house they just bought. You'll want to show off as well. You'll want to let others know you aren't suffering. That you are living your best life too.

But, do you know slowing down, working on your goals, and silently enjoying your success is the best way to live?

Yes, you’ll be tempted to show off but your showing off should be backed with good reasons. When you show off your results to people, do that for them to get inspired.

I know the temptation is high. But how do you deal with that temptation to show off?

Think long-term
No matter how successful you are that is overpowering your mind, you need to be able to control it- controlling the way you behave.

Know that there are people that have crossed your milestone. But chose to keep it to themselves. They do this because they see no reason to put it to the face of the people.

Most wealthy people you see think long-term. Before you hear about their success, they must have already hit a great milestone. And most of the time, it's another person that does the talking for them.

A perfect example is Justin Welsh. He is someone I admire a lot. A fellow who is down to earth. I heard about him through an article Tim Denning wrote about him. I have never seen him show how he has crossed a milestone or shading others for not putting in the work. Considering the fact that he has made $ 5 million plus from being a solopreneur. What a great person to emulate.

Final thoughts
Think long-term. Don’t be an advocate of short-term gains because you’re in haste to show off to others.
Ditch instant gratification because it’ll get to a point where someone else will do the show off for you. Because you won’t have the time to explain to people how you got successful. So keep it cool.

If you love my article, then you will love my other articles as well. ❤️

Don’t hesitate to follow and check my profile to get mind-blowing articles. You can tap the email icon to subscribe just so you can get notified whenever I post.

I am on Twitter and I’m sure you’ll love to connect with me. Connect using the link below;

https://twitter.com/balqeesyusufO?t=ncu5hhXgI4aUyYnLaCb9bg&s=09

--

--

Balqees Yusuf
Real
Writer for

Ghostwriter - open for projects. Building a one-woman business. Writes about writing, side hustle ideas and how I am improving my life day by day.