I Wish I Could Fall into Your Arms

A Test of Courage

Jazunim
Real
3 min readAug 22, 2023

--

Photo by Leonardo Sanches on Unsplash

I think, for the most part of my existence, I have seen love as my parents would profess it. Annoyingly, I despised men because my brothers showed me how awful their habits were. So, when I started to become attracted to the opposite sex, it was a late realization after two relationships of the kind of guy I’m attracted to.

The first one was hellish, the second one was a textbook, and I was hoping the third one would be somewhat normal. At least.

And yet, this stupid attraction robbed me of my sanity for the third time.

I realized my type after being single for 5 years and 2 trial runs. Yet, this third one — this guy, Alex, just offered me a chickpea, and here I am going crazy by just looking at his side profile. Before, I got hysterical. Let me introduce you to how I went from being stagnant to a raging girl.

It was about August last year that my school allowed face-to-face classes. My usual routine is to attend classes, stop by the library, and then study intensely in the study hall. It was a sunny afternoon, I was in the study hall, and I was mulling over whether to change seats because the couple in front of me was noisy. Suddenly, this guy asked if there was someone sitting beside me.

Photo by Jed Villejo on Unsplash

I said no. Little did I know, it was by far the most regrettable decision I have ever made. I never knew I could be this hopelessly attracted to someone. Fuck.

He was so majestic. Slender-looking, clean-cut, fair-skinned, sharp jaw, and smiley eyes. He is my type. I was denying it for about 8 weeks and when, by chance, we met at the same hall, I admitted my attraction (to myself), destroying my 5-year streak.

I lost myself in my feelings, waiting for him to drop by the study hall. Even just for 5 minutes, I was truly happy to see his face. Mind you, in the two semesters of mine, I only saw him about eight times.

Yet, every time I saw him, I felt like it could last for a year.

I wish I could fall into his arms. Talking sh*t about professors or choosing what to eat at dinner. I wish I could have the courage to ask you out.

Because I see you at the peak of the mountain that I need to climb. This admiration of mine made me realize how different our worlds are, and I don’t want to bring you into my messy world. I knew that if I had the chance to have you, I wouldn’t let you go.

Photo by Andrik Langfield on Unsplash

I was still incomplete, and there are parts of me that I wanted to change before asking you out. You made me feel like I wanted to be a better person. So, I decided that at graduation, I would ask you out.

Sadly, I failed a subject, and I was stuck for another semester, and I watched you graduate without asking you out. Without you knowing. I was at the far end of study hall, watching you leave the same hall — I wished to have fallen into your arms.

If the time is right, if I see you again, I will say, “Hi, I want to fall into your arms. I’m Mary, by the way.”

Hi, there. I hope my stories made you smile. I am an accounting student aspiring to become a CPA lawyer. Unfortunately, the Medium Partner Program does not cover my country, and I am supporting my law studies through writing. I would greatly appreciate it if you supported me. No amount is big or small. Even if you can’t, that’s okay. Please consider buying me a coffee at buymeacoffee.com/bubonune. Thank you!

--

--

Jazunim
Real

a self-supporting student by writing. I write late-night thoughts, realizations that matter, a bunch of anime and manga, and a tiny bit of accounting.