If you were me, you’d quit too

Shackled by the image my parents built on me

Jazunim
Real
4 min readJun 18, 2021

--

I had those kind of parents where every detail on your path is planned out. The standards and high expectations are meals that I have to digest every day. In other words, I am shackled by the image-my parents built on me. Taken into consideration, I believe that these things will benefit us in the present and future circumstances. However, such benefits do not mean contentment or happiness. It is hard to follow a path that someone does not even want to walk.

Photo by Hernan Sanchez on Unsplash

During my middle school days, I was excellent in debate and argumentative skills. My parents saw it as a complementary skill to Law. Therefore, I was taught and reminded that Law is for me, and I must strive to reach it. There is no path other than Law. While I was happy that I am provided with education and resources that I needed, it is a realization to know that the happiness I felt was actually my parents recognizing me. I struggled to reach their expectations and wants because I wanted to see them happy.

But happiness had no limits, at least it was for my parents. Every area of my life should complement the idea of a good daughter they wanted to raise. They had firm reputation and any mistake could lead back to them. This is why I started to question if this path was really for me, or for my parents’ image.

It requires strong mental strength to acknowledge your limits and true feelings

Photo by Luis Villasmil on Unsplash

Our inner self-thoughts comprise of both positive and negative feelings. It does not mean they are both wrong, rather it reflects the gravity of the situation we are trying hard to face. It takes a lot to admit that you were wrong and lacking. However, it requires strong mental strength to acknowledge your limits and true feelings. To talk out that you are tired and wanted to quit, is a luxury during these hard pandemic days. People expect a lot from you because you are young, full of resources, and had a lot of time.

Still, people only see the surface of your life. Your parents, especially mine, will only recognize your hardships when you succeed. I always wonder why it is hard for them to accept who you are at the moment when they have not acknowledged what you sacrificed to be there. While they are comparing you to the standard that they want, you felt a cycle of disappointments and mistakes. Then, doubt will control your self-esteem, overthinking small things that does not matter to other people, but silently kills you.

Letting go of the cycle of expectations

At the end of the day, we all feel the emptiness and weariness just by living. But I hope that as we all reach those emptiness, we tried to embrace that we are just a human with limits. The presence of crying may exhaust our energy, but it is a proof that our emotion cannot just stay within ourselves – we have to let them go. We have to let go of the cycle of expectations and pressuring success. We may feel happy at people praising or recognizing us, but these are momentarily happiness that fades us through time and is forgotten at the presence of mistakes.

Photo by Matteo Vistocco on Unsplash

What I learned about quitting

If you were me, you had quit too. Quitting is not a mediocre norm and is not running away. Quitting is a recognizance of your limits and accepting your nature as a person. I hope that you consider the option of quitting as it needs to open a discussion towards the 21st century. You may be bound by your limits, but these limits grow you to a better person.

Hi, there. I hope my stories made you smile. I am an accounting student aspiring to become a CPA lawyer. Unfortunately, the Medium Partner Program does not cover my country, and I am supporting my law studies through writing. I would greatly appreciate it if you supported me. No amount is big or small. Even if you can’t, that’s okay. Please consider buying me a coffee at buymeacoffee.com/bubonune. Thank you!

--

--

Jazunim
Real
Writer for

a self-supporting student by writing. I write late-night thoughts, realizations that matter, a bunch of anime and manga, and a tiny bit of accounting.