Isolated Reflections

A Personal Reflection on Loneliness

Tobian Thompson
Real
3 min readSep 16, 2023

--

Syrian Mona-Lisa! by Suhair Sibai

When I opened my eyes, a new day greeted me. My curtains were open, allowing the warm morning sun to shine through with a gentle golden glow. It was a cruel contrast to the emptiness that had taken up residence inside of me.

Before I even got out of bed, the irony and audacity of a beautiful day had exhausted me. Though it appeared as though the world outside my window was waking up with vigor, I was still feeling heavy and alone inside.

My bed was cold and empty next to me as I stretched out on it, sensing the absence of someone there. The cool, untouched sheets served as a stark reminder of the solitude, which had grown to be a dependable and devoted companion.

I yearned for the sound of another person breathing, the softness of a hand reaching out to mine, and the warmth of a body curled up next to me. But instead, there was silence, broken only by the distant hum of traffic and the chirping of birds outside.

I could not help but wonder how I had gotten to this point, where every morning was a struggle against the crippling sense of loneliness, as I reluctantly left the comfort of my bed.

The relentless weight on my chest reminded me that in this vast world, I was just a solitary soul, lost among a sea of people. Life’s twists and turns had led me down this path of isolation, like a solitary traveler navigating a desolate road.

It was not always like this; before, my world was a place where people laughed and shared special moments. But now, the echoes of past connections seemed distant, like fading memories. Loneliness wrapped around me like a suffocating cloak, a constant reminder of my lonesome state and unmet longing.

My coffee maker, at least, seemed pleased to see me. Whenever I pressed the brew button, she always appeared to jolt with excitement. It hissed, gurgled, and made noises that rivaled a morning radio program.

My cereal box would wink at me as I sat down at the table. The milk carton would croon loving words to me, as if knowing I needed love. My goldfish and I had heart-to-heart talks, but I suspected he was a better listener. Even my houseplants seemed to be gossiping about me. It was clear that my solitude had reached a point where even inanimate objects were forming alliances against me.

Loneliness is the best teacher of life’s strangest lessons. I couldn’t help but laugh at the pathetic nature of my situation. It was like I had become a character in a tragicomedy, and loneliness was my quirky sidekick.

Thus, the comedy of errors that is my life continues in a society where loneliness is a compulsive but oddly entertaining companion. In the stillness of my solitude, I find a quiet strength and a resilience to keep moving forward. In my sitcom of solitude, every day is a new chapter, and I cannot help but chuckle at the ridiculousness of it all. After all, what else is there to laugh at if you cannot laugh at your own loneliness?

--

--

Tobian Thompson
Real

A perpetual student of life who finds joy in the pursuit of knowledge and the adventure of discovery. Join me as I navigate a diverse landscape of interests!