Meltdown: How I Recovered

When I was 21, I had a meltdown, and it nearly killed me

Adam Black
Real
3 min readJul 5, 2023

--

From Envato Elements

I’ve had a few meltdowns, but my most profound one came at the age of 21.

I had just been outed as a gambling addict, my girlfriend of 7 years left me, and most of my friends deserted me. My parents, rightly so, were disgusted.

The lowest point in the ocean

I couldn’t get any lower.

The only good thing about being at rock bottom is that you can’t get lower. But, the feeling didn’t go away for a long time.

I had nothing to live for. Not a single thing.

The love of my life was gone, and all my ‘friends’ were gone. My parents are ashamed.

From Envato Elements

Run

I had planned on moving from my home in Scotland to the south of England to be with an uncle and start from scratch.

I even considered just going away somewhere nobody would know about, cutting everyone out, going away, and restarting my life. Never to contact them again, friends, family, and all.

I looked at Ireland, Italy, and Spain. I could save up £20,000 in 6 months between wages and selling all my things and just get a flight and start over.

Spent about 2 months researching, all on my own. Nobody said a word to me at this time.

Then…

Olive branch

My girlfriend reached out.

I told her my plans. She was horrified. Her advice to me was that if I just decided to run from my problems, they would find me eventually.

She was right.

Owning up to my shortcomings

One night, during the week, I reached out to everyone.

I apologized for not being a good son, brother, friend, boyfriend, and colleague.

I asked my girlfriend if there was a chance for us and she said maybe. From there, I got a pen and paper and plotted out the next year of my life.

Then the next 3 years.

A happy ending

In the end, my girlfriend and I got back together, and we are 10+ years married with children.

I have 3 best friends.

My parents couldn’t be more proud. So they say.

From Envato Elements

In Short

Never run from your problems. Face them head-on or feet first.

I hope you got something from this article. Thanks for reading.

--

--

Adam Black
Real
Writer for

Day Trader - GBPJPY, BTCUSD, XAUUSD | Accountant | Financial Adviser | Documenting | Writer | Balance | Average Golfer