Setting the Tone: How a ‘Say No’ Playlist Transformed My Life

Learning to say “no” was like trying to teach a penguin to tap dance — awkward, hilarious, and occasionally involving slipping on a few emotional banana peels.

Tobian Thompson
Real
3 min readSep 14, 2023

--

photo by Andrey Popov on Pexel

Picture this: I’m at a party, trying to balance a plate of questionable hors d’oeuvres in one hand while attempting to juggle conversations with five different people. All the while, my inner people-pleaser is hyperventilating in the background, terrified of uttering that tiny, two-letter word.

Friend: “Hey, could you help me move next weekend?”

Me (sweating profusely): “Uh, well, you know, I’m basically a human version of a spaghetti noodle when it comes to lifting things, so I’d just ruin your furniture.”

Friend: “Oh, don’t worry, it’s just a few boxes.”

Me: “Right, boxes. Well, I’ve got this rare condition called ‘boxophobia’ where I break into hives at the sight of cardboard.”

Friend: “Really?”

Me: “Oh yeah, it’s a silent epidemic, trust me.”

Cue laughter, but deep down, I knew I’d just added another event to my calendar of chaos.

It took a while, but I started to see the comedy in my people-pleasing misadventures. I even made a “No” playlist with empowering anthems to psych myself up before those tricky conversations. Creating a “Say No” playlist is a fun way to remind yourself to assert your boundaries. Here are some great songs to include:

  1. “No” by Meghan Trainor
  2. “I Will Survive” by Aretha Franklin
  3. “Respect” by Aretha Franklin
  4. “Don’t Stop Believin’” by Journey
  5. “Uptown Funk” by Mark Ronson ft. Bruno Mars
  6. “I’m Still Standing” by Elton John
  7. “Stronger” by Kanye West
  8. “I Won’t Back Down” by Tom Petty
  9. “Fighter” by Christina Aguilera
  10. “Shake It Off” by Taylor Swift
  11. “Bitch” by Meredith Brooks
  12. “Hit the Road Jack” by Ray Charles
  13. “So What” by Pink
  14. “I Don’t Want to Miss a Thing” by Aerosmith (for those times you’re tempted but need to resist)
  15. “All About That Bass” by Meghan Trainor
  16. “Survivor” by Destiny’s Child
  17. “Break Free” by Ariana Grande
  18. “Bulletproof” by La Roux
  19. “Roar” by Katy Perry
  20. “Take a Bow” by Rihanna

Can you picture me dancing around my studio to these jams before leaving the house? It’s quite a comical visual I’m sure! How about you? What would your pumped-up “Say No” playlist look like? (Let me know in the comment section.)

These songs carry messages of empowerment, independence, and resilience, which can be a great motivator when you need to stand your ground and say “no.”

Saying “no” is a powerful act of self-preservation and boundary-setting. It’s the refusal to overextend oneself, the declaration that your time and energy are precious. In those two letters, you assert your right to choose your commitments wisely, prioritize self-care, and avoid being overwhelmed. Saying “no” isn’t selfish; it’s a vital skill for maintaining balance and focus in a world filled with endless demands. It’s a small word with immense impact, helping you stay true to yourself and your priorities.

For me, saying “no” wasn’t about rejecting people; it was about protecting my sanity, making space for what truly mattered, and realizing that even penguins had to waddle before they could dance.

--

--

Tobian Thompson
Real

A perpetual student of life who finds joy in the pursuit of knowledge and the adventure of discovery. Join me as I navigate a diverse landscape of interests!