The Crippling Search for the Perfect Piece

And a valuable lesson learned

'Tena
Real
2 min readNov 22, 2023

--

Credit: Michael A. Keller / Masterfile

I haven’t made a post in a while and it annoys me, especially because there’s no real reason why I have been unable to do so. I’d have summed it up to laziness except my notes are filled with tons of unfinished write-ups.

A lot has been on my mind lately as I have to juggle different things all at once and so I have an abundance of experiences to work with, there is just this crippling need to create the perfect piece.

I want it to have the perfect flow, be relatable and still stir up feelings in everyone, you could say I’ve been searching for the ice cream of write-ups.

It occurred to me today that I don’t necessarily need perfect because perfect actually inhibits growth, which terrifies me more than having a few bland pieces here and there.

I hope I’m eventually able to satisfactorily finish all the incomplete writings I have stashed away in my notes.

I’m not sure if this situation is peculiar to me or if it’s a common phenomenon among budding writers and although I would love to get feedback about the experiences of others on this, I have come to realize that being perfect is like being a supernova. I don’t think I would very much like that....at all.

--

--