What Else Do We Need But a Little Appreciation?

It’s a tool for motivation.

Sakthi Mahalingam
Real
2 min readSep 30, 2023

--

Photo by Carrie Beth Williams on Unsplash

A few years ago, I went to the bank to deposit cash. The savings account was opened by my mom when I was young. Even after the world is digitalized, she still follows the manual procedures for any transaction.

To fill in my details in the challan, I used one table placed in one corner of the bank where the challans were piled up.

I felt someone was watching me writing my details. From the corner of my eyes, I confirmed that the person was indeed looking at me. I lifted my head and saw him.

To my dismay, the person I saw there was no one but a popular mimicry artist. He was actually not very popular. People who watch TV programs very regularly could identify him soon. During that period, he was also seated as one of the judges in a comedy show run on a famous TV channel.

“Was he really looking at me?”

I was writing my details in the challan by placing it on the piled-up empty challans used as a support to write. He was actually waiting for me to move the place so that he could take the new challan that he needed.

Soon I saw him, and I tried hard to remember his name. Yes, I remembered his name.

I outright confirmed, “Are you Sethu?”

He said yes with a smiling face.

I could see his exultation when I recognized him out of nowhere.

In a fraction of a second, I attempted to recall his iconic voice. I couldn’t remember. I fumbled.

I forgot the name of the veteran actor whose voice made that mimicry artist famous among the people.

Then he himself said the actor’s name by mimicking a dialogue with the actor’s voice. I had a good conversation with him for a while. After coming home, I told my mom about him when I happened to watch his program on TV.

Over time, I forgot about the incident.

But now I recollect the incident. No matter how small the performance was. He didn’t actually have to enact it just for a person, but he did.

I am truly surprised. His face glistened when I recognized him and talked about his work enthusiastically.

I am able to connect his happiness only when I get claps, responses, and followers for my work from people I do not know. Appreciation always acts as a motivating tool.

Thank you for reading.

--

--

Sakthi Mahalingam
Real

Write about the happenings in and around my life. Movie-buff. It makes me write fiction sometimes. At present, I'm in search of my favorite genre of books.