What I Learned From Taking a Month off From Writing to Travel

Don’t judge me too harshly

Hadley Pearce
Real
4 min readOct 17, 2023

--

Photo credit: Element5 Digital via Unsplash

I’ve been a traveller my whole life. I’m passionate about it. I took my first trip to Europe when I was 16. I’ve lived in 3 countries (other than my own), spent 3 months in New Zealand, and another 3 months wandering around Latin America. Plus smaller trips here and there and weekends spent trying to explore around where I live.

So when I turned 40 this year, I decided it was a great excuse for a big trip. Like, nearly a month away type of big.

But I had just launched my own science writing business last year and am still in the hustle phase. Making connections, writing, reading, writing more. Taking time off seemed like the last thing I should do.

You rarely read about the benefits of taking time away. We are in full-in hustle culture here… especially as a newbie. Write every day! Produce. Produce. Produce! Life, breathe and poop your work!

And to be honest, I almost cancelled the trip. Thinking it was the “responsible” thing to do. But I am so glad I didn’t. Despite what many will say and think, it was probably the best thing I could have done for myself at that point in my career.

New scene, new ideas

It’s amazing how a change of scene can fuel new ideas. As someone who is always in her head, it can be exhausting. Constantly thinking about what I have to do tomorrow, what project is coming up, and who I should be reaching out to for new work opportunities. It’s so easy to get into a rut that stagnates new ideas.

This gets totally flipped upside down when you travel. You’re out of your routine, which forces new thought patterns. Going to new places, and seeing new things gives you new things to talk about. New questions to contemplate.

I was in a constant flow of new ideas. I kept a list going on my phone for new title ideas, people I should reach out to, and angles for articles. And I wasn’t even trying.

A quiet brain is a creative brain

We resist being bored in the US. For many that space of nothingness is uncomfortable, so we fill it with plans, phones, friends and family. But with all that stimulation, our brains actually need the break.

When we allow the space for us to do nothing, creativity naturally kicks in. It’s your brain's way of filling the space. Like opening up different channels for ideas to come in.

A great example is how Harry Potter was born in 1990 on a 4-hour train ride. There were no cell phones or streaming services available back then so J.K. Rowling was left with just her thoughts and the scenes out her window.

I had constant brainwaves of work ideas when was travelling. We didn’t have cell service unless we were on wifi, so most of our bus journeys were me either reading or looking out the window. The perfect recipe for creative ideas.

Works spurts can be very productive

So I did do a little writing when I was away. I found little pockets of time in the morning before my partner woke up, or in the afternoon when we were doing our own thing to put some words on the page. And I wrote so efficiently in those moments. I didn’t put pressure on myself to produce anything. I was genuinely excited to write.

It was like a form of focused writing. I didn’t have any of the usual everyday distractions like laundry, grocery shopping, or playing with the dog, so I was naturally focused. I’m a big fan of focused writing at home so to experience it so authentically was glorious.

Writing in different ways mixed things up

I’m a big fan of journaling. It’s something I have done for myself since middle school as an outlet to process what was going on internally. And I have come to love having a journal when travelling to document trips. It’s a way to remember things I did, unique moments and interactions that I would likely forget in the future.

I did that every day. I wrote about what we did, who we met, what we ate, funny experiences, and odd interactions. And even though this was totally different from work writing, I found that it still served as a sort of practice for me. Letting words flow, trying not to get too much in my head and trusting the writing process… something I can find challenging as a newer writer.

I would 100% do it again

So despite the many quizzical looks I am likely to get with this article, I’m glad I challenged the current idea of productivity and hustle culture.

In the end, everything I learned about myself, my work and writing style and where I get ideas while away will serve me much better than anything I would have been doing at home in my same routine. I needed the mix-up and the reminder that sometimes slowing down is what we need to speed up.

--

--

Hadley Pearce
Real

Brain scientist, knowledge mobilizer, and writer with the goal of making research accessible and relatable to everyone.