What I Learned From Traveling Solo

And why everyone should do it

Hadley Pearce
Real
4 min readJul 1, 2023

--

Photo credit to Manuel Meuriss via Upsplash

As someone who never felt at “home” in the US, I’ve always been looking for my place in the world. And because I didn’t have many friends that had the travel bug as I did, I often traveled solo.

Some people think this is crazy.

“What do you do with all that time alone?” or “How do you meet new people to spend time with?” And the big one, “Isn’t it dangerous?” Sure. It can be lonely sometimes and can be dangerous if you aren’t smart about it, but really what these things did was expand my capacity for challenge and adversity, and teach me loads about myself.

You learn that being in your own head isn’t as scary as you might think

I know, I know, being alone isn’t for everyone. And as an introvert, that part comes very easily for me. However, you learn so much about yourself when you are alone with your thoughts.

We live in a time when we are inundated with stimulation. Phones, TVs, music, people, more phones, more people. It can be hard to take time and figure out where we end and others begin. And also doesn’t allow us to just… be.

When I was in South America for three months, I traveled by bus. Sometimes I had trips that were 6 to 9 hours long, which left a lot of time listening to my iPod and gazing out the window. Thousands of things passed through my head, from daydreams to problem-solving and general reflections. It was wonderful. I started feeling more creative, grounded, and confident in having the chance to just experience the moment with minimal distractions.

You find similarities and create bonds through vulnerability.

If you haven’t done much traveling, it’s easy to get fixated on how other cultures are different. Different languages, different foods, and even different skin tones. But when you meet people traveling, you see all the things you have in common. Love hiking in the mountains, finding secret beaches, or trivia at a local pub. One of my closest friends, when I was living in Denmark, loved the show Friends as much as I did. Every week we’d meet up to make dinner and watch the show.

You see, everyone traveling has these things in common. Everyone is experiencing new things in a new place. This creates a unique sort of bond. And these connections are what make traveling solo so special. It can open up a different version of yourself. No, no, not a less authentic version, but there is something about being in a new place, away from your day-to-day routine, outside your comfort zone that allows a different side of you to come out. The wildest thing is that it stimulates vulnerability and connections, which leads to deeper, more genuine conversations and lifelong friendships.

You can do hard things.

There is nothing like being in a tough spot 1,000s of miles from home. It sucks. It’s scary. And definitely can be overwhelming. But until we’re put into those positions, we don’t know our own potential. We are forced to rise to the occasion and find a solution because you can call home and vent about what’s going on, but there isn’t much they can do from halfway around the world.

On my way to New Zealand, my credit card was compromised. My only credit card. And I didn’t get the call to verify everything was actually fine, because I was traveling. So I landed in New Zealand with limited money and no credit card. Holy. Crap. But I figured it out. I used my resources and connections to get money transferred and carried on having an awesome three months. Was it stressful? Yep. Did I learn a lot? Heck ya.

There is so much to learn from other cultures

One of my favorite things about my travels is all the things I’ve learned about different cultures. Their political views, food, what they do for fun, priorities, traditions, and how this all impacts their lifestyle and how they see the world. And you can also shape your views of the world by learning there are many ways to do and think about things.

For instance, I’ve learned that Latin cultures, like Chile and Argentina, prioritize eating big meals with friends and family that can last hours. The social nature of many European countries means there is less of an economic gap in their society, and they get 6 weeks off every year for vacation as a baseline! (No wonder they are so well traveled). And New Zealand is still such a safe place that many travelers I met there hitchhiked as their way to get around.

Solo travel has taught me so much about who I am and who I can be. Overcoming challenges made me stronger and more confident, and befriending people from different places opened my mind to things I was taught as a kid. I’ve learned that stepping out of my comfort zone can lead to incredible growth and unforgettable experiences and friendships that I never would have found elsewhere. And I wouldn’t trade those for anything.

--

--

Hadley Pearce
Real

Brain scientist, knowledge mobilizer, and writer with the goal of making research accessible and relatable to everyone.