What’s The Fuss All About?

Deepika Raghunath
Real
Published in
3 min readJul 19, 2023
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

At my bay window, every evening, I’d see a bunch of kids hanging out after school. They’d all carry a packet of chips or cookies each, and talk while munching on it. I noticed, one girl in the group never really ate or spoke much. I observed her for over a week and nothing much changed in her behaviour or actions.

Once the kids left, I’d ponder over what bothered that girl so much that she simply kept to herself every day. I made up my mind to ask her myself and see if I could help her. But, as the moment approached, I wouldn't bring myself up to her for some unknown reason. I couldn’t figure out why I wouldn’t brave myself up. She was after all a young child.

I silently kept observing, until, a week later, I strongly felt I would not interfere because children of this generation are sensitive and don’t trust strangers wanting to help them genuinely. Also, they are sometimes, a little egoistic to share their problems. However, the inner me felt a stronger urge to at least meet that girl in the eye and communicate that I had been observing her paleness.

Finally, the day came. I had decided it was then or never. I was all set. I had continuously rehearsed since morning what I would ask her, how I would initiate the conversation, how I would make her feel comfortable with me, and so on. I mustered my courage ( These days we have to do this with kids!!! Whattay pity!😁) and went up to her.

APhoto by Yannaty KOUYATE on Unsplash

She smiled. I smiled back. She met my eye in a glance. I welcomed it with a reciprocating pat on her shoulder. I don’t know what I was thinking and why I did that impulsively 😁. It felt like a tense moment.. and I just uttered the initial “Hello”, while my mind raced a thousand times with various possibilities of her response.

I imagined she would open up and say I wanted someone like this badly, bluntly refuse to talk any further, or ask me why I was prying on them every day..! Too many sentences rushed into my mind at once.

What did she say to me?

She began shyly, “Aunty.., I can’t tell you how excited we are to talk to you in person! We come here every day to see what New Dress you wear, what Earrings you have paired it with, and the lip shade you match it with..!”

And all the other girls started laughing and giggling in shyness as well and said “ You look so pretty every day Aunty, you are so well-dressed always.”

I was spell-bounded! I felt a tingling cry in my eyes. I had indeed mistaken her shyness for deep grief. I was overjoyed and at the same time relieved that the girl was just fine. I quickly went into my home, got a handful of my handmade earrings, and handed them a pair each.

The sparkle in their eyes, that I captured that day, is something I’m going to cherish for a very long time! I relived my childhood days through them.

Later, I criticized myself for having misjudged the kids so quickly, but, felt a deep relief inside that the innocence still exists!

--

--

Deepika Raghunath
Real
Writer for

I am a blogger and a quilling artist. I pen down my thoughts on human values based on my experiences in life. I also love writing about my travel experiences.