Wisdom at the Washington Mystics

How a military appreciation game left an unforgettable impression

Jilian McGreen
Real
3 min readJul 8, 2023

--

Women on the basketball court always inspire me to fight for what’s important, take up space, and live courageously in this world. But a Vietnam veteran in the stands showed me that, sometimes, it’s not about being in the game; sometimes, strength looks like cheering others on.

During a WNBA game, a player shoots the ball while guarded by another player. A full stadium cheers enthusiastically, including two gentlemen standing in the foreground.
Washington Mystics playing at home in Washington, D.C. Image by the author.

In addition to leading through potent advocacy and political involvement, the women of the WNBA embody female empowerment — bsimply by playing basketball. The vast majority are larger than average women. Many are BIPOC and/or LGBTQ. They are physical and aggressive and unapologetically strong. Every WNBA game is a tribute to female power and endurance.

Each year, the Washington Mystics devote one game to another group of boundary breaking women — those of the U.S. military.

Last season, I was lucky enough to attend the #WeSaluteHer game in uniform. After watching warm-ups courtside and participating in the National Anthem to open the game, I enjoyed the view from incredible seats behind the basket. I happened to sit next to an uncle of one of the players, who, in her rookie season, was starting for the first time that day.

I soon learned this gentleman had served in the U.S. Army infantry in Vietnam. A young draftee, he was severely underpaid for backbreaking work and sent as much money home as he could. While this is a heartbreaking if not uncommon tale, it’s what he said next that shocked me.

“Take every government benefit you can get. Every single one. Because we got nothing.”

This man’s life was upended by a faraway war he didn’t choose. Survival meant returning to a country that didn’t separate disdain for the war from disdain for the soldier, a culture steeped in racial discrimination and violence, and a government that failed to provide for the financial, physical, or mental wellbeing of Vietnam veterans.

And yet his answer wasn’t to impose that suffering on others or devalue the service and sacrifice of modern soldiers. Without a moment of hesitation, he told a white female in uniform to claim every government dollar he and his peers never saw. Not in spite of them. Because of them.

Imagine if that generosity of spirit was the norm.

I struggled to pay off my student loans, so yours should be forgiven.

I couldn’t spend enough time with my newborn, so you should have the longest possible parental leave.

I deserved better, and so do you.

While I always leave a WNBA game inspired by the athleticism and passion of women’s basketball, that evening I walked away with more — an unforgettable vision of generosity, forgiveness, and strength, and three goals for the future:

  1. Claim every veteran’s benefit to which I’m entitled, and encourage those around me to do the same.
  2. Help those next to and behind me to reach for better, and be thrilled for them when they get it.
  3. Cheer on #0 forever.

--

--

Jilian McGreen
Real
Writer for

Seeking an embodied, honest, generous life, and healing what I can through a little writing and a lot of listening.