Running three.js - webrtc

Themis García
Real Time Social Spaces
2 min readFeb 16, 2021

Description:

I tried to understand how to import models into three.js.

I tried to incorporate 3d models and primitive objects to explore the space. I also included a fog function to see how that actually affects the environment.

It’s interesting to think of how to furnish an environment so vast as the virtual space. Next time I have to think about sketching it first.

Challenges:

Although I have imported 3d models before to three.js, I am still a little bit confused about how to do it each time. I tried to animate a model doing rotation but I wasn’t able to make it work, because I am not sure where the updates happened.

Additionally, for my thesis work, I’m exploring perspective in three.js using head-tracking. I’m also thinking of making it a social experience by playing a sort of “peek-a-boo” with another person. Although is not connected yet to webrtc, here is the direction of these explorations.

Github

Face Tracking and Three.js

--

--

Themis García
Real Time Social Spaces

Product UX Designer, Accessibility Researcher, Artist | PR-born & raised | She, Her, Ella| themisgarcia.com