Bachelorverse: Regardless of what happens, we love Carly & Evan

Allan Aguirre
RealitySports
Published in
3 min readJun 18, 2017

A crying girl rides away in a limo after the man she was with for all of Paradise, declines to propose to her and dumps her on the spot. Meanwhile, months later a dorky dude is getting his tight maroon shirt ripped off by a testosterone fueled Chad Johnson. If you had told me that Evan and Carly would go on to become America’s next favorite Bachelor couple, I would have told you that’s as likely a Bachelor contestant going on Reddit to call someone a “cunt”.

Yet, here we are, the Penis Guy and the Sugar Bear Hair girl have been an item for a year and were supposedly getting married this weekend, before all the stuff that has happened on the filming of Bachelor in Paradise season 4. I haven’t wanted to blog about that, mostly because I don’t know what to believe at this point, and that it should all be left to the professionals. What I do know, is that I feel for the two people who are in love and were supposed to have a wedding this weekend in the same place where they fell in love.

When I first saw Carly on Chris Soules season of the Bachelor, I was not the biggest fan of her whole singing thing, kind of seemed like her angle to push herself and advertise herself. I also did not like her hair at the time. As the season went on, I liked her a little more, and felt bad they she couldn’t get the spark with Chris. Paradise 2 seemed even worse for her. Even at the beginning of Paradise, I was not a major fan of hers, I wouldn’t say she seemed pretentious, but her interviews about Evan were quite mean.

However, you could tell that once she actually began to feel Evan, there was a big turn. Their painting date was so weird, yet so cool. After being engaged, their relationship took serious steps, Carly was as invested in Evan as he was her. The regard she holds for him is what you want for an equal relationship.

When Evan showed up, he was the penis guy, who you felt was kept around to be Anti-Chad, to be funny and awkward, and to obviously not win. My friend and I thought Evan was the most awkward and lame person during his first few days of Paradise. Watching him be able to recover and be persistent enough to win Carly back was stunning.

I feel bad, as this somewhat feels like it has a negative tone, but I truly love the relationship between these two. They represent what is right with the Bachelor world when things go right. I don’t think they were each others obvious first choices, then after time, and having actual human conversations, ones that are not superficial or branding focused, they actually enjoyed the presence of each other. The Josh Murray-Amanda Stanton relationship was pure sex drive, Lace-Grant relationship was pure bad choices, and most relationships in the Bachelor universe crumble after, either to big personality differences or infidelity.

It’s a breath of fresh air to get a couple who loves each others, who wants love, and has found it. Carly and Evan blog together, send funny live tweets together, and they deserve to be together and get the best wedding they can.

The word is the wedding is still going down, and I wish you two a happy marriage.

— Love, Bachelor Fan.

--

--

Allan Aguirre
RealitySports

28 years old. I blog about MTV's the Challenge and will dabble into other subjects occasionally. Follow me on Twitter for the occasional bad joke.