OST Alpha II POC is Done!

Here’s the final video and a recap of the project

Drew Thomas
Really Simple Store
3 min readMay 23, 2018

--

Done!

I’m very excited to share this video. I had a really enjoyable last few weeks working on this project. A simple-but-valuable token economy inside of Really Simple Store is exactly what it needs to move from a side project into a real focus.

Here’s my submission. I proved my concept, and I’m going to keep building.

For more info on OST and the Alpha II Proof of Concept:

Recap

✨ I set out to prove that a token economy could allow Really Simple Store owners to sell each others’ products without losing profits to commissions or wholesale pricing.

✨ I designed a system where a store owner “offers” RSS tokens to add their product to a marketplace. From that marketplace, any other Really Simple Store owner can add the product to their own store. If another stores sell the product, they get the RSS tokens that were offered, and the original store owner gets paid in full for their product (as if they sold it themselves).

✨ Now the store owner that received RSS tokens can offer her own products in the marketplace, potentially creating additional, passive income.

✨ In the real world, this type of “community selling” might also mirror the way brands and influencers promote each other on social media. For example, a large, known brand can sell products from a cool up-and-comer, which gets the new store access to a whole new audience.

✨ To prove my concept, I created a sandbox version of the Really Simple Store platform. (Since I was making updates, I actually upgraded a ton of the Really Simple Store core functionality and basically created the start of a “2.0” version.)

✨ I created test versions of four stores, and then I played with all kinds of different scenarios that involve selling each others’ products.

✨ The results were as great as I could hope for, and the economy seems fair, clear, and incentivizing. I’m very happy with the results.

✨ I did not build out the marketplace interface for the demo, and I did not build a new store editor for the demo. Even though the project is over, I’m going to keep going on that stuff next.

I can’t say enough how much fun I had on this project, and I’m thankful to OST and the team for building a really great product and really great community. Check them out:

I’ll keep updating here, so check back if you’re interested.

If you’re interested in a store, you can get on the mailing list at ReallySimpleStore.com.

👊

Banks and Indie Store
Humble Blades Store
Shred Shop offering Humble and Yerp! products
Shred Shop cart with other stores’ products in it

--

--