OST Alpha III: Week 2

🍰

Drew Thomas
Really Simple Store
2 min readJul 26, 2018

--

I’m writing this weekly update, separate of the official Halfway Post, in order to get into more specific detail. Here’s the Halfway Post:

And here’s what I did the past few days!

Progress

I have all of the wallet endpoints up and running- I’m pulling a full transaction history and a balance (including the OST value) for any store that’s signed in.

I’ve been playing around with the different Really Simple Store interfaces (there are now seven: cart, orders, products, receipts, settings, store layout, and the actual shop) to see where the wallet best fits.

Right now it’s in the store settings section, but I’m considering adding an eighth interface: wallet.reallysimplestore.com.

That may or may not make sense ultimately, but it’s something I’m considering. I’m predicting that some of the other Alpha III projects will inspire new ideas for how the Really Simple Store wallet can evolve.

The whole settings page right now
List of transactions from OST

Issues/Challenges

The decision on where a token wallet fits and how to best display it is the biggest challenge I’m dealing with right now. Pulling the information and setting up the interface was super simple.

For Really Simple Store specifically, it’s hard to decide how much importance to place on the token stats and history. Currently, I’m starting with just a balance and a button to “get recent transactions.” I’m guessing most stores (for our audience right now at least) won’t actually care much about their stats or history… so I need to keep everything simple and un-intimidating… but I want to make sure everything is available and transparent at the same time. A welcome UX challenge!

Plans

Over the next week I plan to finalize all of the interfaces required to put together a more extensive demo of the whole platform, start to finish.

The one part I may leave out is the actual marketplace, but I can run through everything else live.

I want to line up a “relaunch” of Really Simple Store, including this token economy, with the launch of OST on mainnet, so the more I can get done for the demo, the better shape I’ll be in for the next step.

Until next week!

--

--