OST Alpha III: Week 4

Series wrap-up

Drew Thomas
Really Simple Store
2 min readAug 8, 2018

--

I just posted my official final video submission and blog post for the OST Alpha III Challenge, but I figured I’d round out this four week series as well for good measure.

Here’s the official final submission stuff:

Progress

I finished everything that needed to get done and have submitted everything I need to submit. The final demo came out well, although I didn’t finish the marketplace interface and had to fake it.

I still need to run some more transactions, but not even sure whether the requirement is 1,000 transactions or 1,000 additional transactions… either way, I’m going make sure there are at least 2,000 in OST VIEW, which there are not yet.

Issues/Challenges

In the end everything was very easy. The only issue I ultimately had was some confusion around airdrops not being included in the transaction history response (ledger endpoint). I had to fake the initial airdrop (for creating a store) in the transaction history list. There could be something I missed, but I need to dig a little deeper and figure that out if I plan to offer rewards or incentives in the form of airdrops in the future.

Plans

I plan to finish off the rest of the non-token functionality on the platform, specifically the marketplace stuff, and launch to the public when OST launches on mainnet.

Since I don’t know when that will be, I’ll just keep plugging away and thinking about ways that tokens can play a part in customer acquisition and activation, referrals, etc. If I can get the initial “community selling” token economy working, there’s a lot more that can be done with the tokens.

Thanks to OST for the challenge (and the rewards), and once again, it was a blast to participate!

Search the #OSTa3 hashtag here, on Twitter, on YouTube, Reddit, etc. to see other projects!

Once again, here’s Really Simple Store’s final submissions:

--

--