Crushing on the quarter system

Yeeqin N.
Realtalk App
Published in
2 min readJun 24, 2020

I never thought my crushes would run as predictably as on a 10-week cycle, but the quarter system has found me cycling in and out of adoration in an almost hilarious pattern.

I’ve found that an unexpected side effect from 10 week quarters rather than semesters is that the people you surround yourself with changes rapidly. That’s not to say that your friends won’t remain constant, but rather that you will certainly be meeting new potential friends and lovers as your schedule shifts.

Whether it’s always running into the same guy in Harper before your 12:30pm class or sharing the same path across the quad from Cobb to Pret every Monday/Wednesday/Friday, I have found myself becoming smitten with an absolute stranger just by virtue of having matching schedules.

Other members of the College seem to agree. A post on UChicago Crushes, a Facebook page with nearly 1.6k followers, reads, “Crush on the 2nd year on the rowing team- [guessed name]? Honestly one of the most beautiful girls on campus and seeing you in harper always made my day better.”

As the 10 week period comes to an end and I no longer find them around campus, so does my infatuation. Because I’ve never taken the initiative to meet this stranger, their absence from my life is relatively casual.

“It’s sort of like this mystery person,” a rising fourth year friend in the College says. “Part of the allure is that you see them all the time but you don’t know much about them.”

While there is certainly the possibility to lament the loss of your Harper Hottie, I’ve always found these crushes to be more amusing than serious- a fun mental flirtation to distract from the workload and pressure of UChicago academics and to gossip with friends about. It doesn’t hurt that I know the cycle will just repeat itself next quarter — in fact, I look forward to it.

Realtalk is a dating app for college students to get to know one another. Users leave 30 second videos, answering fun, playful questions — and those videos encompass their dating profile. No BS, just Realtalk. Download it today

Originally published at https://realtalkapp.co.

--

--

Yeeqin N.
Realtalk App
0 Followers
Writer for

Student at the University of Chicago