TheBlackSea x RealT

Yohann LIBOT
RealT
Published in
4 min readApr 14, 2021

TheBlackSea creates this artwork as a part of a collaboration with RealT, a limited edition of 50, available on Rarible be quick!

Let’s hear more about this artist!

Can you explain why you have this pseudo and how long have you been an artist, how did you get started and how did you get involved with cryptoart?

The origin of the nickname comes from a joke between friends at the base which refers to this:

I had to find a nickname and I just used the English word from “the black sea” I have been an artist for over 15 years now and I started to be a crypto artist in October 2020 somewhat by accident then I understood the potential behind NFTs and got involved almost totally now.

L’origine du pseudo vient d’une blague entre amis à la base qui fait référence à ça : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0SdcfsD_WVE

Je devais trouver un pseudo et j’ai juste utilisé le mot anglais de “la mer noire” Je suis artiste de puis plus de 15 ans maintenant et j’ai commencé à être crypto artiste en octobre 2020 un peu par hasard puis j’ai compris le potentiel derrière les NFTs et je me suis impliqué quasi totalement maintenant.

How do you choose the thematic of your art and depending on this how is your creative process like?

I chose the theme of cryptocurrency for my first collection of “Crypto Cards”, I found it interesting to represent existing crypto projects with collectible cards. I’ve been a big collector since I was a kid with NBA cards, Dragon Ball Z, Magic, etc. I am launching a new collection called Blockchain Artifacts which I invite you to discover here: https://rarible.com/blockchain-artifacts

J’ai choisi le thème de la cryptomonnaie pour ma première collection de “Crypto Cards”, je trouvais ça intéressant de représenter des projets cryptos existant par des cartes à collectionner. Je suis un grand collectionneur depuis que je suis enfant avec les cartes NBA, Dragon Ball Z, Magic, etc. Je suis en train de lancer une nouvelle collection qui s’appelle Blockchain Artifacts que je vous invite à découvrir ici : https://rarible.com/blockchain-artifacts

Do you have collectibles? Which one of your personal collections is your favorite?

I don’t have NFTs at the moment but I will love one day owning a work by Billelis https://www.instagram.com/billelis/ — I am totally a fan of his work.

YOU CREATED ME by Billelis

Je n’ai pas de NFTs pour le moment mais j’adorerai un jour posséder une œuvre de Billelis https://www.instagram.com/billelis/ — Je suis totalement fan de son travail.

How has your style changed over the years? (and if you have samples of your first art until today, to illustrate) and what’s next for you in the future?

I believe my first NFT was a Gameboy I modeled in 3D, I love retrogaming and this was my first try :)

When I see this first realization with the one made recently I realize that the realizations are much more successful, whether it is on modeling, texturing, compositing and animation! My most successful work to date remains this:

Je crois que mon premier NFT était une Gameboy que j’avais modélisée en 3D, j’adore le retrogaming et c’était mon premier essai :)

https://rarible.com/token/0xd07dc4262bcdbf85190c01c996b4c06a461d2430:28962:0xeca59b6392ac66b9affa75342343c327eee4b0f5?tab=owners

Quand je vois cette première réalisation avec celle faite récemment je me rends compte que les réalisations sont beaucoup plus abouties, que ce soit sur la modélisation, le texturing, le compositing et l’animation ! Mon œuvre la plus aboutie à ce jour reste celle-ci :

https://rarible.com/token/0xd07dc4262bcdbf85190c01c996b4c06a461d2430:110401:0x1cccbe36ee38dbbb2e40804bafd7d2ee8e0c7b1b

How did you pick the subject to do the collaboration with RealT and how did you expect people will react?

I found it interesting to make one of the houses actually offered by RealT and to model it in 3d. I found it made sense to be able to view one of the properties in its entirety and not just in a photo.

I’m happy because this NFT bought their first NFT at that time! It’s super rewarding :)

Je trouvais cela intéressant de réaliser une des maisons réellement proposée par RealT et de la modéliser en 3d. Je trouve que cela avait du sens de pouvoir visualiser une des propriétés dans son intégralité et pas que sur une photo.

Je suis content car ce NFT a fait acheter leur premier NFT à ce moment là ! C’est super gratifiant :)

Answer from TheBlackSea translated from French.

In parallel, I invite you to listen to his interview for “Le courrier des lecteurs”, in French.

Follow TheBlackSea on:

Thanks for reading this. Let’s talk about this together on Twitter or on LinkedIn. Have a good week!

--

--

Yohann LIBOT
RealT
Editor for

Marketing at @defilabspty @realtplatform • Investor • Photographer • Adventurer • Retired pro skater