8 Strategies to Follow as a Care-Giver

Rebecca Kojetin
Rebecca Writes
Published in
8 min readMay 1, 2019

--

As spouses or significant others, being a partner in each other’s health care can cause great stress.

Photo by Gabriel Kiener on Unsplash

In my childhood memories, my mother was the one who took care of me when I got sick. She also took care of my father when he became ill, but when she developed health issues, my father rarely acted as a caregiver.

Because of this, I didn’t question my first husband’s expectation that I go to the store for chicken noodle soup and applesauce when we both came down with the flu one year.

Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

But today, my husband and I work as partners in our health.

In our household, we are dealing with his diabetes and his stage four renal failure that has led to peritoneal dialysis.

Ever since I met my husband, he has had diabetes (a thing you have, not something that defines you) and we have been conscious of carbs and the importance of counting carbs. We have, for the most part, had his numbers under control.

Enter stage four renal failure and the necessity to start dialysis. We weighed our options and took the route of peritoneal dialysis to maintain our active…

--

--

Rebecca Kojetin
Rebecca Writes

Health and Life Coach and Writer. I work with people to help them become the best version of themselves.