An Introduction

Rebekah Daniels
rebekah-daniels
Published in
2 min readFeb 26, 2019

I’m Rebekah. You may or may not know me. If you do know me, you know that I care a lot about education. I read books voraciously and obsess over how people best learn. I am probably too opinionated and never tire of searching the educational world for philosophies, tools and traditions to encourage a yearning for new ideas. Why am I carving out this corner of the internet for my thoughts? Honestly, it’s a question that has popped up repeatedly when I’ve toyed with the idea of starting a blog. Each time I think, “I honestly don’t have anything unique to offer. The internet is a massive space overflowing with opinions. I’m not a professional. Why would anybody care about my perspective on learning?” I’ve only recently come to the realization that my existence as a person living my own story provides relevance enough.

I’m choosing to write this blog. Not because I am an expert in my field of interest, but because my passion might spark a similar passion in another. Not because I really believe that any struggle I share is unique to me, but because my story is so similar to the stories of many others. And certainly not because I have it all together, but because the transparency of other online voices have encouraged me to keep moving in the direction of vulnerability.

So, here’s an introduction. I attended high school and college in East Texas. I got married at nineteen to a handsome guy I’d known for less than a year (I can’t say I recommend that), but life was kind to us. My husband is my closest friend and one of the most insightful guys I’ve ever met. We are raising three children in the Bay Area. My kids are vivacious, intense and compassionate. Investing in their souls is the opportunity of a lifetime, an opportunity I choose to be thankful for, even on the days when I hardly hold it together. I yearn for knowledge. I read all manner of books because I want to, have to, know more about the world. I believe anything is interesting if it is taught well. I think all of the time about what makes for a good education, what books will meet the right person in the right moment and what tools I can use to inspire myself, my children and those around us to be kind and noble humans. I play the ukulele and have played the drums and piano. I love good hikes, dark chocolate and strong coffee. I would love to own an independent bookstore someday.

Here’s to getting to know one another. Cheers!

--

--