Think Brutal

how I use the simplicity stick in my life

Alessio Moretti
:reboot
2 min readDec 14, 2016

--

“Simplicity favours regularity” — MIPS processors design guideline

My debt

I owe technology a debt. Before entering college I was not aware how it is easy to get struck in the chaos of our world. Our world that is something extraordinary: just think to the tremendous amount of data exchanged every nanosecond from your connected devices, the incredible amount of news (some fake too, sic) and so on.
Well, when I first time decided to follow the Steve Jobs mission, it was like a fresh breath. I decided to build something, I actually didn’t know what, but it would be simply amazing, amazingly simple.

The Stick

I heard that Steve was able to use a magic tool, the Simplicity Stick, which he used to sink every project who was not simple enough, or it was tricky for the user to understand and use, due to poor design and projectual decisions.
I was puzzled: had I to be so brutal? Yep, definitely.
For the rest of my life, collaborating or managing small techie projects, since I was a rocky in the tech world, I found more productive to be clear from the very first encounter: building something simple and successfull is not a simple task. And it is not for everyone.

My stories

So what about this blog? I will mainly write about what is my experience, positive and negative using this or that technology, trying to cover the more I could. It is a simple diary? Yes. Did you need to make such a long post? Yep. So you are telling us that you will have no respect for tradition? Definitely.

Nice to meet you guys, I am Alessio.

PS: this is my first story on :reboot! WOHA. Write me down in the comments what you expect to read :)

--

--

Alessio Moretti
:reboot
Editor for

Computer Engineering student, technology enthusiast and a Scout Lead. Pursuing the very one principle: leave this world a little better than finding it.