Rebuilding MooTools

Christopher Pitt
Rebuilding MooTools
2 min readJul 8, 2014

--

I was introduced to JavaScript via the MooTools framework. Some time ago I wrote about how the “main” developers have moved on to other things, leaving the framework mostly dormant.

A modicum of activity has lead to the release of 1.5 and talk of a community-driven version of the framework. I hope that happens, and that it revives the framework to the benefit of all prepared to use it. I’m not one of those people.

The truth is that I don’t write enough JavaScript for it to be an issue. I enjoy JavaScript, but I’m employed as a PHP developer. I teach people about PHP. I’m committed to it!

Still, I often think of the times when I’ve been able to submerge myself in JavaScript, and write awesome things on-top of awesome frameworks. Much of the JavaScript stuff, I’ve been paid to write over the years, is still used to launch new products.

And one of the things I’ve always wanted to do is rebuild MooTools. I have a similar series on rebuilding Laravel. In the same way; I do not intend for people to use this code as their new framework. I just want to dissect the framework, and learn how to build something better.

I make mistakes. If you see them, please comment or speak to me on twitter (@assertchris).

I will update the list below, as new articles are published.

--

--