Get to know Claire — Insights into rebuy’s Business Development Team

Sophie Lenhardt
rebuy recommerce
3 min readJul 25, 2022

--

Hi, I’m Claire, I started my internship at rebuy last month and joined the Business Development team. My goal will be to support the team on several projects, especially for sustainability-related topics such as rebuy’s ESG guidelines or the next Sustainability report including upcoming GHG emissions reduction targets.

I am thrilled to have joined the rebuy community and contribute towards helping make circular living accessible to all!

Great to have you onboard, Claire! What sparked your interest to join rebuy?

First, I would say the company’s purpose and overall vision is to make circular living accessible to all by creating a disruptive way of doing business. I’m very passionate about a company that can have an impact on both people and the environment.

And of course, remaining financially profitable and attractive.

How do you see your work impacting the company’s mission?

I hope my work will help incorporate sustainability as a core indicator for rebuy’s performance as a company and a societal actor, from external or internal stakeholder’s perspectives.

How does sustainability resonate with you?

Sustainability is a very complex and holistic concept and can be applied in many parts of our lives. I was raised in an environment where taking care of our natural environment, ecosystems, but also other humans was very important, more than any kind of financial performance. Studying international sustainability and business, I think it is everyone’s responsibility to put sustainability at the centre of their activity, no matter what business you run. However, I strongly believe that sustainability must be embedded beyond commercial practices and needs to be central in our everyday and personal behaviours.

What was your first impression when you started here?

What surprised me the most was the genuine kindness of people, at all levels of hierarchy. A hierarchy that is indeed very flat and where everyone gets to speak up and freely share their thoughts.

For example, the general impression I had during my very first days while I was meeting the different teams, including the C-Team among which everyone was welcoming and very easy to reach out to.

I know that you just finished your studies. How does rebuy culture ease juniors to join?

Already during my first interview, I shared some insights about previous professional experiences I had starting as a young graduate that were associated with low credibility, legitimacy, and responsibility. Katja, who was interviewing me and who is my manager today, told me instantly how far from this mindset rebuy’s culture is. I can confirm that when I came to the office and during my first meetings I felt very comfortable asking questions and sharing my ideas in a very open way.

Describe the type of person that would enjoy working in your team at rebuy.

Anyone who loves teamwork, looking for solutions, improving the status quo and likes to do research as well as sharing ideas.

Any situation of teamwork that you have experienced or seen?

I believe that rebuy’s core business plays a crucial role in how employees approach their work and their relationships to colleagues and teams. Working for a company that has a direct positive impact on society, whether socially or environmentally, drives you to build strong links with the people you work with.

What are the things you enjoy most about working at rebuy?

So far, the people and the atmosphere in the office, filled with genuine kindness; and the independence in my tasks as well as conducting stimulating projects.

At rebuy, we are committed to welcome and support diversity and that everyone can be who they are. Is it something that you experienced since you started working with us?

Definitely! Two weeks after my start we celebrated Pride Month and raised money for QueerAmnesty through a cake sale; a lot of people participated and were there to celebrate inclusion and embrace diversity of all kinds.

Also in the office in general, colleagues come from all over the world and open mindedness is at the heart of the interactions I have had so far.

Thank you so much Claire for your time!

I really enjoyed sharing that with you!

--

--