A Short Stack Cake ;)

Green Tea Kit Kat Crepe | Recipe

Anne
RecipeRemix
Published in
7 min readJan 11, 2017

--

Green tea crepes with white chocolate ganache

From the time I took a bite into my first crepe (nutella and banana), I fell in love all over this delicious French dish. It was crispy on the outside, soft on the inside, sweet, chocolaty, and melt in your mouth pancakes.

Crepe is a thin pancake and is originated in Brittany, a region located in the northwest of France. To learn more about crepes, check out this page. These delicious thin pancakes come in both savory and sweet flavor. The savory ones come with all kinds of vegetables and sometimes even meat. The sweet ones come with chocolate, fruits, nuts, and cream.

This pancake was so good and irresistible, I learned how to make them two years ago to impress Mr. RR ;). Yep, that sure is my secret :P. At first I was like there is no way I can make this. After watching CookingwithDog’s crepe recipe on Youtube one Christmas, I gave it a shot. It turned out super delicious and doesn’t require any special tools.

Here is my take on a crepe flavor. This recipe was inspired by the Green Tea Kit Kat. The white chocolate and green tea flavors were so good together, I turned it into a crepe version. All measurements are converted to American measuring system so put away that scale.

With Valentine’s day around the corner, this recipe will definitely win your lover’s heart. Make it for anniversary or surprise he or she with a delicious breakfast.

Enjoy and don’t forget to leave me a comment or share photos of the ones you made. I love to hear from you guys.

Ingredients

Crepes Batter

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup of all purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp of green (matcha) tea powder (Can’t find this, read the trial #3 section)
  • 2 tbsp of white sugar
  • 2 tbsp of melted butter
  • 1 cup of milk (~240mL)

White Chocolate Ganache

  • ¼ cup of heavy cream
  • 1 cup of white chocolate

Directions

To prep the chocolate ganache, place all the ganache ingredients into a mixing bowl that you will be using for your double boiler. If you do not have a double boiler and need a DIY, check out my fudge recipe.

To make the green tea crepes, into a mixing bowl beat up the eggs.

Oops forgot to include green tea powder :(

Into the same mixing bowl, shift in flour, sugar, and green tea powder.

Whisk it up until it form into this nice soft dough ball.

Add in the melted butter and keep on whisking. The dough ball should get a little soften and become more smooth.

Looks like there is not a lot of batter, but trust me. It makes many crepes.

Add in milk and whisk until everything is dissolved or until no more dough ball.

Don’t have a bigger bowl, so have to get creative!

Strain the batter until another bowl. Try to use one that is easy for pouring. DO NOT skip this step or it will be a chunky crepes.

Pour about ¼ cup of batter into a hot nonstick pan and swirl the pan around to even out the batter onto the pan. Goal is to form a circle. I used a 8in size pan. If you are using a larger pan, add more batter. Cook the crepes on medium-high heat. The first one might be a failure, but once the pan is up to temp, the crepes will turn out perfect.

Once the crepe is cooked, about 2–3 minutes or the bottom is lightly brown, flip it over. Cook the other side for 1 minute.

Definitely didn’t allow myself a bite before the photoshoot O.O

Remove and spread on some chocolate ganache. Stack on a new crepe and repeat the process until you get a crepe cake. Drizzle over some leftover ganache and dust over with some cocoa powder or powder sugar. If you like to add fruit, use raspberries. They goes well with white chocolate. Serve with a cup of coffee or hot tea.

Tips and Tricks

Final results with nutella
  • Don’t feeling like making chocolate ganache, use nutella instead and sprinkle on some thinly sliced almond inside for a surprise extra nutty crunch. Roll it up into crepes rolls and serve with a side of whipped cream. Nutella and whipped cream go well together.
  • If you can’t find green tea powder, use 4–6 packs of green tea and brew it with the milk. Let the warm milk cool down completely before making your batter. Add some green food color dye to get that green color. Warning: the green tea flavor won’t be as strong.
  • To make your own green tea powder, take some green tea loose leaves and grind it up in a coffee grinder into a fine powder.
  • Skip the green tea and ganache. Just make a regular crepes, spread on some nutella and layer on some sliced banana/strawberries for a quick simple delicious breakfast.
  • The straining step helps remove out all the clump from the batter. If this step is skipped, the crepes will turn out lumpy. I have not found a way to whisk up this batter without having clumps. Leave me a comment if you have.
  • Let your batter sit at room temperature for 5–10 before cooking it. This will make the batter flow more smoothly.

Trials

Trial 1: How am I going to make this without a scale?

The original recipe calls for 100g of cake flour and 240mL of milk. I have to use math aka google.com to convert these measurements American measuring systems. These conversion turned to be with 1.01cups of flour and 1.01 cups of milk. How in the world was I going to measure this? So, I turn to my eyes to make the estimate. The crepes batter turned out a little thick, but still tasty.

Trial 2: Can I use just 1 cup of flour and milk?

Turned out the crepes was super delicious, but I did this trial while filming and guess what? I forgot to add the butter until the end. However, the crepes still turned out perfectly. Yep, this is how easy this recipe is and allows room for mistakes. I make mistakes all the time so I always hate those picky recipe like Angel food cake.

Trial 3: What to do if I can’t find matcha powder?

Ingredients for green tea bags version

While writing up this recipe, I was wondering wouldn’t be really unfair for those who wanted to make this, but can’t find green tea powder? I have been the same boat previously for a different recipe and have to travel so far to get the items. I would hate to do that to you guys. Instead, I figured let test it with green tea bags. This is available anywhere in any stores. Here is the result.

  • The crepes taste good, but it wasn’t strong enough. I used only 3 tea bags, so use more or a stronger green tea. I think the green tea bags from Costco works really well. Unfortunately, I didn’t have any Costco ones to experiment with.
  • The batter doesn’t have that nice green tea color. Use green food dye to make it a little green. Only flavor matters to me, so I didn’t use any food dye in this experiment.
Steeping green tea with milk
  • Warm up the milk and steep tea for 10–15 minutes. Do not do it any longer than 15 minutes, or it will be super bitter.
  • Conclusion: you can definitely do this, but I think making your own green tea powder will be your best bet. To make green tea powder, just put your green tea loose leaves into a coffee grinder and blend until it turns into fine powder.

--

--

Anne
RecipeRemix

I'm an amateur chef and crafter with a science background, who loves experimenting new recipes and craft ideas. Follow me on RecipeRemix and ThriftedCrafts!