yummmmmm

Pumpkin Spiced Latte Bun | Recipe

A warm delicious pumpkin spiced cinnamon buns recipe that will melt your love ones’ heart

Anne
RecipeRemix
Published in
8 min readNov 16, 2016

--

Ingredients

Dough

  • 1 pkg of instant dry yeast (about 2 1/4 tsp)
  • 4 cups of bread flour
  • ½ cup of white sugar (I used cane sugar)
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • ⅓ cup of melted butter
  • 1 tbsp of pumpkin puree (I used canned pumpkin)
  • 1 tsp of pumpkin spice mix
  • 1 cup of warm milk (heat up until it a little warm, but not too hot where you can’t touch it)
  • Before you put away the flour, make sure to save a little bit of flour for later

Filling

  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • 2 ½ tbsp of pumpkin spice
  • ⅓ cup of softened butter (leave at room temperature until butter is brought up to temperature)

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 1 pkg. of 3 oz cream cheese (brought to room temperature)
  • 1 ½ cup of confectioner sugar (also known as powder sugar)
  • 1tsp of pumpkin spice
  • ½ tsp of vanilla extract
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • Note: If you love the frosty part of a cinnamon bun as much as I do, I would recommend doubling this frosting recipe. There can never be enough frosty.

Directions

This recipe is designed to be made using a bread machine. If you do not have a bread machine please read No Bread Machine Version section below :)

Bread Machine Version

Place all dough ingredients into a bread machine. Set the bread machine to the dough cycle and start. This process will takes about 1.5 -2 hrs depending on your bread machine.

Once the cycle is complete, let the dough rest inside the bread machine. Meanwhile, prep your filling. Melt your butter in a small pot or in a bowl in the microwave. In a separate container mix your brown sugar and pumpkin spice.

Remove the dough from the bread machine and place onto a floured board. Roll out the dough into a rectangle thin sheet ( about 16” by 21”). If you don’t have a measuring tool, just roll it out to be the size of a rectangular baking sheet pan.

Brush the melted butter onto the dough and sprinkle on the brown sugar and pumpkin spice mix. Make sure to brush on a lot of butter. Too good to skip and keep back!

Make sure to get the butter and sugar all the way to the edge

Roll up the dough sheet into a long log and cut into about 12 pieces. Make sure to make a long log, not a short one. Short log will make massive Cinnabon and only about 4 pieces ;)

Place the 12 rolls into a baking pan. Cover with a wet towel and let them for 30 minutes. This will help them rise into Cinnabon size.

Rise rise babies

Meanwhile, turn on your oven and set it to 400F.

After 30 minutes, place rolls into the oven and bake for 12–15 minutes. Keep an eye on it around 12 minutes. Burned rolls are not tasty!

While the rolls are baking, prep your cream cheese filling. Put all frosty ingredients into a stand mixer and blend it away with the mixing hook at a low speed. Mix until everything is well incorporated and looks creamy.

Evenly spread the frosty all over the baked rolls right after it comes out of the oven and enjoy with a cup of coffee. Save some extra frosty on the side to dip your cinnamon bun into if you love it that much.

It smells so good in here

No Bread Machine Version

Although I have never make this recipe without a bread machine, I am pretty confident you can do the same with a stand mixer, but it just takes a lot of time, as it requires you to let the dough rises for about 30 minutes. The bread machine is only used in this recipe to knead the dough and help the dough rise at a warm temperature.

Please leave a comment if you really want me to work on developing this recipe without bread machine. If there is a lot of requests, I will definitely give this a try.

  1. Add all the dough ingredients to the stand mixer.
  2. Mix until all ingredients combined and a dough ball is formed. Start off at the lowest speed unless you want to cover your kitchen with flour. Increase the speed to medium and mix until everything is well incorporated. I would recommend that you use a the flat beater hook, not a dough hook because I think it will mix better.
  3. Remove dough from the stand mixer and form it into a nice round ball. Put it inside a bowl and cover with damped towel.
  4. To help the dough rise better, place the bowl with the dough inside into an off oven with the lights on. Please note that if you are living a cold climate area, you can set your oven to keep warm and put the dough inside.
  5. Follow step 6–10 above.

My first introduction to cinnamon bun was through my boyfriend (Mr. RR). To this day I had never actually try one Cinnabon. Maybe, I should bring one home one of these days and do a comparison.

Into our 2nd year of dating, I was given an old bread machine. I was super thrilled and excited to the point that I made so many breads. Funny enough, before I was giving this device, I didn’t even know what a bread machine is. I have to say, it was one of the best gift that year. Around this time, I really wanted to bake Mr. RR fresh cinnamon bun for breakfast, but I didn’t have a nice stand mixer to make the dough. I noticed that the bread machine has a dough mode and that is when the idea came into my mind. Why can’t I use this great bread machine to make the dough.

After searching the world wide web for a recipe that mock Cinnabon, I finally came to allrecipes.com Clone of a Cinnabon recipe. I have to admit, choosing a recipe from all the recipes option you have out there thanks to the internet is pretty darn hard. Thanks god for reviews. I follow the instructions carefully and everything comes out super delicious. Although, I think I double the frosty recipe as I learned from Mr. RR, you have to save extra on the side for dipping. It is too good and you can never have enough! I am not sure if it taste as good as Cinnabon, but Mr. RR said it is better as I made fresh and with love for him. :)

I don’t make this recipe often, you can probably guess why. Mr RR’s friend was staying over with us one night and I thought “what would be better than surprising both of them with delicious fresh baked cinnamon buns for breakfast.” I made the same exact recipe from allrecipes.com and it turned out super delicious. It was so good, we all couldn’t control ourselves. Oh boy, that was a heavy morning, but it was super delicious and worth every single calorie.

With fall right around the corner, we all need tea or coffee (maybe not everyone, but I know they are a must for me) to keep ourselves warm. I figure what can be better than a cinnamon bun to go with our hot tea or coffee. But, I can’t just eat a cinnamon bun without the taste of fall. So, I came up with this pumpkin spiced cinnamon bun. I had to admit, I was excited and scared at the same time. So excited, I couldn’t wait to head to Trader Joe’s to get all the ingredients, but deep down I was scared that it wouldn’t turn out delicious. Surprisingly, they turned out super delicious. Sadly, there is only Mr. RR and me to eat them all, so I shared them with all of my coworkers and the feedbacks were amazing.

It was super easy to make and too tasty to resist myself from sharing this recipe. As Thanksgiving is approaching around the corner, I rushed into typing up this recipe. I want to share this recipe with all of you, so that you can surprise your families with these delicious cinnamon bun bake with love. Yet, so simple and requires little efforts. I hope you will find this recipe delicious and love it as much as I do. Fall is the season to give thanks, enjoy hot chocolate, and delicious pumpkin cinnamon buns.

Trials and Errors

Here are some tips and tricks I learned while developing this recipe. Feel free to leave me a comment on what your tips and tricks. I love to learn from you.

  • Adding the pumpkin puree doesn’t add any flavor to the dough. However, it adds a nice orange color and fragrance to the dough. If you don’t want to buy pumpkin puree just to use 1tbsp of it, substitute the pumpkin puree with orange food dye.
  • The addition of the pumpkin spices added a fall aroma to the cinnamon bun. This cannot be omitted. It is a must have to make this recipe a fall recipe.
  • The original cream cheese frosty calls for ¼ cup of softened butter. However, I didn’t like the buttery flavor in the frosty. The frosty tasted more creamy and rich without the butter.
  • I thought that the dough would not turns out right with my modification. Dough making is always tricky. However, this recipe turned out beyond what I was expected.
  • When spreading the melted butter onto the dough sheet, make sure to spread it all the way to corners and use a lot. This will prevents your corner bun pieces from being dry.
  • If you don’t have kitchen towel, use a paper towel. I used a damp paper towel to cover my bun instead. Wet the towel with hot water. This will help make your dough rise bigger.

Like I stated, I modified this recipe for the fall season. For the other seasons, you can still use this recipe to make a delicious cinnamon bun. Just remove the pumpkin spices and pumpkin puree. Substitute pumpkin spices with cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg for the filling.

--

--

Anne
RecipeRemix

I'm an amateur chef and crafter with a science background, who loves experimenting new recipes and craft ideas. Follow me on RecipeRemix and ThriftedCrafts!