Mini Victoria Sponge Cakes

Egg Free Recipe

Harsha Modha
Recipes for my Children

--

Afternoon Tea at posh hotels often fails at catering for a vegetarian egg-free diet. Therefore, I decided to create my own afternoon tea menu and invite my family over for a tasting.

Since then, my friends and family have been asking me for my recipes having either sampled the treats first hand or after seeing the pictures on my Facebook page.

Today, I will share with you my egg-free version of a British classic, Victoria Sponge Cake; sandwiched with strawberry jam and fresh whipped cream.

This recipe makes 12 mini sponges.

Ingredients:

Dry mix:

  • 2 cups self rising flour
  • Just over 3/4 cup castor sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder

Wet mix:

  • 240ml natural sour yoghurt mixed with 2 tablespoons water
  • 6 tablespoons sunflower oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Decorations:

  1. Whipped fresh cream and strawberry jam for the sandwich filling
  2. Icing sugar and fresh strawberries for decoration

Method:

  • Sieve the flour, castor sugar and baking powder together in one bowl
  • Whisk the wet ingredients separately in another bowl
  • Add the wet mix to the dry ingredients and fold gently to combine
  • Put the mixture into a greased and floured mini loose bottom sandwich tin. My tin makes 12 cakes.
  • In a pre-heated oven bake at 180c for 15 minutes or until a knife inserted in the middle of the cake comes out dry
  • Once baked, allow to cool. Once cooled slice each cake in half horizontally. Spread one half with whipped cream and strawberry jam
  • Pop the other half of the cake on top, dust with icing sugar and decorate with a slice of fresh strawberry
Here are some of treats that I made

--

--