Author’s photo of Minotaur Lake, Wenatchee range, WA

A Pristine Lake Amid Lofty Peaks, An Exhilarating Picnic Site

Reciprocal Nature Prompt first week of September: “Pleasant picnicking”

Joyce Nielsen
Published in
4 min readSep 14, 2023

--

My friend, Katie, needed a day to remember. She had been plagued by many injuries that summer. We were hiking buddies. Her physical fitness having improved, she longed for a stimulating hike. I suggested a new place to explore.

“How about a picnic at a high alpine lake surrounded by mountains?”

So we set off with my Husky, Chan Teh, to Minotaur Lake in the Wenatchee range. A three mile steep switchback trail with rest stops cut through alpine firs. The scent of pine permeated the air. Dry needles muffled our steps. At the top a meadow with heather skirted a picturesque cobalt lake. The view was accentuated by white granite boulders.

“I’m not opposed to a fancy meal, but I’ll take a picnic any day… food and nature? Sign me up.” Ryan Paevey

Photo of author with Chan Teh at Lake Minotaur, taken by Katie.

The climb was well worth it. What a glorious site for a picnic and welcome rest. We found a level rock shelf at the water’s edge. Then deposited our knapsacks and spread a fleece blanket to sit upon. Chan Teh lay down…

--

--

Joyce Nielsen

I write on all aspects found in Nature. I hope to inspire with tales of adventure and my life experience. You can email me here: nimbledoe2@gmail.com.