Are You Trying to Fit In?

Then stop trying — change your environment, not yourself

Janin Lyndovsky
Reciprocal

--

It was heartwarming to see life returning to my farm after the disaster. Most of the trees I planted were killed by the fires; however, the native trees survived. They were in the place they belonged, they were prepared to face the challenge, and they were growing strong. (Photo by Author)

When everyone celebrated Halloween, I prayed for my home to be saved. I was lucky, and my house didn’t burn down, but unfortunately, my entire farm did. Most of my gardens and the trees I planted turned into coal or ashes (except for the little garden in front of my house). It was heartbreaking.

However, where there is a disaster, there is also hope, plenty of learnings, blessings to be grateful for and new opportunities. And this is what I want to concentrate on.

Just two days after the fires, the rain came. With the rain, life started to return to my farm. A month after the fires, I decided to do some clearing near my house to be better prepared for future fires. (I live in rural Australia, so I know the fires will come again. The question isn’t “if” but “when”, and I accept this.).

Everything was burned, so removing all the dead sticks should be easy.

The trunk of this tree got completely burned on the outside, but on the inside, the tree was fully alive. The fires not only didn’t destroy the native trees, but the trees needed the fires to grow stronger and better. (Photo by Author)

I was getting ready to cut a small, dead-looking tree when I noticed new shoots on its trunk. I put my chainsaw down and went for a short walk. I examined other trees and bushes, and most…

--

--

Janin Lyndovsky
Reciprocal

Life-stories of elders taught me more than any school or university. Now I hope through sharing my stories I can inspire others to chase & live their dreams