Don’t Call It a Comeback! I Didn’t Publish on Medium for 30+ Days and Here’s What Happened…

Carmellita
Reciprocal
Published in
4 min readFeb 8, 2023

--

Wow! What happened to ya girl’s stats?

“Baby, I’m Back!” Designed by Author (Carmellita) in Canva

Many of you whom I call Fam, know I’m publishing a website and blog. Things are looking great. I’m learning new things each day. Nonetheless, publishing a new website took a lot of time from publishing on Medium.

Yes, I could have vacillated between the two, but I took this time to experiment. And you all know I love experimenting.

What Was My Writing and Publishing Experiment about?

First, let me preface, I had slowed down significantly on Medium back in October 2022. My usual “almost” daily publishing (publishing about 5 times a week and engaging with 20 to 30 stories a day) had become about 3 times a week. And yes, it did affect earnings.

But I have plans on Medium and beyond Medium so it had to be done.

With this writing and publishing experiment, I wanted to know what would happen if I didn’t publish any new content for 30 days. And boy did I find out.

Without publishing for 30 days

Medium’s algorithm loves fresh content. You’ve got to serve it up if you want to stay in the feeds. Moreover, engagement is critical on…

--

--

Carmellita
Reciprocal

Writer, Poet, Storyteller, & Scholar. Co-founder of http://bluelotusliving.com. BA in Speech Communication. Former ghostwriter who came back to life.