Forest Folk: A Life Among the Creatures of the Woods

Kerrie Gutierrez-Diaz
Reciprocal
Published in
4 min readNov 15, 2023

--

Reciprocal’s first week of November Prompt: Discovering Wildlife Wonders

fish caught by my husband photo taken by me

The last house I lived at was right in the middle of the forest. Nothing around by wildlife and trees. This is where I took my one photo of the sunset through the trees.

Picture of sunset through the forest in my backyard. Picture taken by me.

When I lived there I had seen some of the most beautiful animals.

Porcupine wanting to eat the wood off the side of my house. Photo taken by me.

This porcupine was coming night after night eating on our house. It was all wood around my house and this animal sure seemed to love its taste for some odd reason. We finally had to trap it and move it far away because it had ate a lot of the the front of my house. Was a big one know it is hard to tell from the photo.

woodpecker tapping on the house saying Hello. Picture taken by me.

This little guy came back a few days in a row to pound his beak on my house. These animals sure loved my house for some reason. I wasn’t complaining. Only thing…

--

--

Kerrie Gutierrez-Diaz
Reciprocal

Mother, Wife, Grandmother, I am on this writing journey like many of us here on Medium. Working on an ebook about one of my many interests in 2023.