Gathering up the Fragments of Myself

When you mend yourself, you become golden.

Victoria Gregg
Reciprocal

--

Photo by CHUTTERSNAP on Unsplash

There I was, looking down at the floor at the pieces of me, wondering how I would collect them all and put myself back together. As I gazed at the shards, I asked how I had allowed myself to become so fragmented. Would I ever be able to glue myself back together and be the same person? How did I get here?

How did I let someone make me feel like an empty vessel and as vacant as they were?

I was once precious China. But no matter how durable it may be, when you drop it, it will shatter. Not everyone appreciates or sees the importance of an ornately decorated piece of China.

For years, I tried to prove my worth to a man that would never see it. How could I have looked better, been better, and been as successful as he was? I was told by him that I wasn’t enough. I needed to be more and show my worth to someone with an inflated sense of theirs. It chipped away at my soul.

What could I do to anticipate his needs and please him, he asked as I continued to give more and more parts of myself away. I didn’t realize how hollow I became.

Did I ever believe that I was worthless and didn’t deserve someone’s…

--

--

Victoria Gregg
Reciprocal

Writer, Transpersonal Hypnotherapist, Holistic Life Coach,and Speaker, motivating others to live their best lives. https://linktr.ee/victoriagregg