Give Grace, Receive Grace

When you mindlessly treat someone a certain way, you get a gentle reminder of your actions.

Walter Pop Matthews IV
Reciprocal

--

Photo by Alex Shute on Unsplash

Today, I was writing a reply to someone on an informative video for recording artists and producers. The podcast host clearly explained the tutorial, and I comprehended his lesson. Someone asked a question in the comments that I knew the podcast host had described in detail in the video.

My original reply to the person had a passive-aggressive and condescending tone that reminded them they didn’t listen. Then I thought...would I want someone responding to me like how I did to them? Who am I to do that to someone? It was unnecessary and not my place to do so. It was self-important, self-righteous, and uppity. No. I’m a teacher.

I give people guidance and grace. So I changed it by summarizing and repeating the information we both watched. It’s none of my business if they didn’t listen as well as I did. So what. Doing that didn’t hurt me or cost me anything. I think it was a test. I hope I have passed.

Here’s the twist. Why did I edit my original reply?
I edited it because someone once did to me the same thing I just was about to do to that random stranger.
That’s not who I…

--

--

Walter Pop Matthews IV
Reciprocal

A writer who has written an autobiography in poetry form, songs, a play and thought provoking commentary on various online platforms.