I Caught a Sunbeam Bouncing off the Moon

Then another and another, full moon had begun

Caroline de Braganza
Reciprocal

--

Image by Mollyroselee from Pixabay

Full Moon is my favorite phase of the lunar cycle.

Her glowing spotlight in the sky reminds me that the sun continues to shine on the other side of our precious planet, giving birth to a new day and sending people on their way to wakefulness.

My circadian clock winds down as the evening approaches. I scan the sky, eyes wide in wonder and delight.

Tonight, in alignment, the moon catches the fiery balls of sun’s light and bounces moonbeams back to me accompanied by dancing stars, a glimpse of Venus and perhaps of Mars.

The silhouettes of back lit trees tease my imagination. I plant my feet firmly on the ground in case I’m carried away and step too close to the edge of the veranda!

I’ve missed many full moons because of the overcast weather. Sometimes a break in the cloud cover can reveal a prism of warm lunar colors before they disappear again. It’s a pity I don’t own a camera to capture those magic moments forever.

These memories of moonlight linger loudest in my heart:

  • Hubby and I lying on our backs under the stars while camping at Sodwana Bay, within the iSimangaliso Wetland Park World Heritage Site. We arranged our…

--

--

Caroline de Braganza
Reciprocal

Wise Older Woman (WOW). Poetry, essays, humor. Passion for mental health, social justice, politics, diverse cultures, the world and environment.