Reciprocal| Family

My Family’s Tale Of Struggles and Triumphs

A Story Of Family’s Escape

Sahil Patel
Reciprocal
Published in
4 min read4 days ago

--

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

My mother had an arranged marriage when she was just 19 years old. After the wedding, she lived in a large joint family that included my grandfather, grandmother, uncle, older uncle, older aunt, and their children.

Photo by Abhay Patel on Unsplash

My grandfather was a farmer who supported his family through agriculture and animal husbandry. At that time, most people in India depended heavily on agriculture. However, my grandfather made sure to provide a good education for his three sons. My older uncle got a job in Africa and soon moved there with his family. My other uncle was studying in a hostel away from home.

My mother was not very educated, as at that time it was not common for girls to receive much education. My maternal grandparents had taught my mother farming skills from an early age because they had three daughters and one son and were not financially able to provide education for all of them. So, they involved all their daughters in agricultural work from a very young age.

--

--

Sahil Patel
Reciprocal

3× Top Writer in Poetry| Reading | Inspiration.