Picnics Create Lasting Memories

Combining nature and food delights my soul

Libby Shively McAvoy
Reciprocal

--

Envato Elements Purchased Image License NT26QLFCEB

The Pleasure of Picnics

Picnics are a way to give the people or person you are with your undivided attention. There are no electronic distractions. Leave your cellular phones in the car or under the edge of the blanket and focus your attention on the present moment.

I have enjoyed many picnics in my life. Two stand out as the most memorable.

A Picnic in The Park
My daughter and I were headed to my favorite park in my hometown for an afternoon together when she was in high school. This was a special treat for me because she had a busy social calendar and also worked. If this was so special for me, I should extend the invitation also to include my mom her grandmother.

I made a special picnic lunch complete with purple potato, and green bean salad served cold with a light dill dijon and lemon dressing, deviled eggs with fresh tarragon, and a farro salad with crisp apple and goat cheese. Yes, although this was many years ago, I remember exactly what I made because the day was so memorable.

We packed hoola hoops, a frisbee, the picnic basket, pillows, and a large blanket and set off to the park to meet my mom.

--

--

Libby Shively McAvoy
Reciprocal

"HI" Writer, Personal Development and Relationship Coach specializing in Emotional Intelligence, Yoga Instructor, Mom, Speaker, traveler, & seeker