NATURE | CREATIVITY | INSPIRATION

Shall I Compare You to the Cherry Blossoms?

Dr. Fatima Imam
Reciprocal
4 min readOct 5, 2022

--

My Medium friends for life

Cherry Blossoms in High Park, Toronto: Photo taken by the author

When I started my journey on Medium two years ago, there was nervousness, trepidation, and excitement. More than anything else, I wanted to connect with like-minded people who would support my creativity, be my friends, and understand my limitations. I wanted my favorite authors to like my poems and follow me so that they could see how much their works have transformed me.

Wonderful friends who read my poems, posts, and stories are my flowering trees who enhance my personality, nourish my passions, and value my contributions. Friendships are like flowers with a unique connection that keeps growing, spreading, and flourishing, whether in full bloom, budding, or withering.

Writing about the beauty of flowers is like stating an obvious fact. Just like friendships, they are apt for every occasion, vital for every décor, and unique for every personality.

A wide variety of flowers are available worldwide in thousands of shapes and color combinations, and just like friendships, they can be incorporated into our lives.

Wandering around nature, we encounter wildflowers growing naturally in their native environments, or we labor to grow flowers in our gardens by sowing…

--

--

Dr. Fatima Imam
Reciprocal

Poet, writer, artist, historian, educator, advocate of underrepresented voices, and cat lover.