The Beautiful, Profound Power of Trekking in the Wilderness

Nature prompt — Second week of August: The nature around me soothes my soul.

Le Voir N. Lewis
Reciprocal
Published in
3 min readAug 24, 2023

--

Photo by Blake Cheek on Unsplash

The love for nature coincides with my love for poetry, as they have both been influential entities when coping with change, sadness, triumphs, but often highly stressful situations in life.

It is befitting to describe my first times experiencing the power of nature through the artistic language of poetry. From church camp, to hurricane evacuee, to modern day nature enthusiast, I enjoy the sights, the sounds, and the smells of the great outdoors surrounded by trees and paths when I have the chance to visit.

My head is bowed, low and humble,
ashamed of how long it has been since my last plight.
visiting your panoramic alter, your beauty,
pulling myself away from the internal struggle of the city and constant fight.
I find time to come to you, to visit you a few times
when the outsiders are cruel and show low intolerance.
I come to you ready to pour out my heart and soul,
making space for new hopes and making room to give peace a chance.

--

--