Nature prompt for 1st week of February:

The Radiant Glory of Moonlight is Like a Warm Embrace

Joyce Nielsen
Reciprocal
3 min readFeb 7, 2023

--

Photo of full moon over ocean and land.
https://unsplash.com/@whereisfarid

As a child I always felt a closeness to the moon. She was like a loyal friend. In the full moon phase I saw a face looking down on me. Her presence felt like a loving mother comforting me. When I look out my window at bedtime, she soothes my agitated soul.

She might be in her crescent phase but I know she is there. Science tells us that everything on earth reacts to the moon. I’m not alone in that thinking. Couples report heightened feelings of love in the moonlight. Many marriage proposals happen in her radiant presence.

Don’t worry if you’re making waves just by being yourself. The Moon does it all the time — Scott Stabile

Poets and songwriters use the light of the moon as a metaphor for love. She is not bright on her own. She reflects the light of the sun. Her surface is rough and changes her shape. Is she telling us that flaws can be perfect and change is a part of life?

Photo of couple kissing by moonlight.
https://unsplash.com/@chen93

She has a calming effect on our bodies and brings tranquility to a busy mind. She has a harmonious relationship with the sun and the earth. Is she…

--

--

Joyce Nielsen
Reciprocal

I write on all aspects found in Nature. I hope to inspire with tales of adventure and my life experience. You can email me here: nimbledoe2@gmail.com.