The Wake-Up Call That Forced Me to Prioritize Self-Care and Find Balance in a Busy Life

My Journey From Exhaustion to Self-Care: How I’m Learning to Make Time for My Inner World and Why It’s Essential for a Healthy Life

Christina
Reciprocal

--

Photo by Kinga Howard on Unsplash

It started with small signs like feeling exhausted all the time, having trouble sleeping, being irritable and feeling generally disconnected from everything. But I ignored this reality, thinking was a part of a busy lifestyle and tried to pivot, adapt and push through. However, my body had other plans. It was too little, too late. I collapsed, not just once, and ended up in the hospital.

It didn’t happen overnight.

In fact, this outcome was years in the making.

I have always been a high achiever of sorts, constantly juggling multiple responsibilities and tasks. I showed up for everyone else, but never myself.

While this drive and determination to be present for others was often well received and appreciated, it came at a cost no one knew about.

I never made time for myself and my inner world.

If I am being brutally honest, I convinced myself that self-care was a luxury that I couldn’t afford. But little did I know that this…

--

--

Christina
Reciprocal

Inspired by family; passionate about community. Doing what I can to make someone else's day a little brighter.