When You Work With Others

All Writers Profit

Angie Mangino
Reciprocal
Published in
3 min readApr 5, 2022

--

Photo by Marvin Meyer on Unsplash

When I first began my writing career I learned early on the many benefits of writers having a relationship with each other based on cooperation.

  • We learned from each other.
  • We helped each other.
  • We all benefited from the group effort.

Let me illustrate a couple of the many examples where working with other writers was beneficial.

As a beginning writer, I had an article I wrote accepted into a collection of essays called Mothers’ Miracles.

About a year later I received a call from the Senior Editor of Women’s Day asking if I would be willing to submit a photo and do some minor changes to that essay for publication in their magazine.

My resume at the time was too inexperienced for acceptance into a national magazine, but the published collaboration was my entry with their reaching out to me.

Later on with a more professional resume I was fortunate to connect with Donna Kozik.

--

--

Angie Mangino
Reciprocal

Angie Mangino is a freelance journalist & author. All about her at www.AngieMangino.com Become an email subscriber https://medium.com/subscribe/@AngieMangino