Hit Shows Recreated For The 90’s

Justin Streight
Reckless Speculations
5 min readMay 7, 2020

--

As a high-flying 90’s network exec, I “care” about creativity. When I’m not telling minorities how to correctly act like minorities, I’m busy making great shows into four-quadrant, prime-time, network hits.

And I’m here to turn the new golden age of television into profit.

Yeah, that’s me… Photo by Hunters Race on Unsplash

I just want to say, before we do this, that everything about the golden age of television is awesome. Truly awesome. And I also want to say, I am fundamentally against every aspect of the new golden age of television.

Series? What? Now I have to watch every episode to know what’s going on? Streaming? On a computer, like a nerd? No thanks. And AMC doesn’t make shows, it’s American Movie Classics — they do nothing and we all like it.

What happened to television as background noise? A thing you have on at dinner time so you can avoid talking about your daughter’s unwanted pregnancy.

That’s what television’s all about.

The most you should ever have to think about in a television show is who’s hookin’ up, what’s George Costanza gotten himself into now, and who’s hookin’ up.

So, let’s stop jerkin’ around and make some network TV, 90’s style.

Breaking Bad

--

--

Justin Streight
Reckless Speculations

I spend too much time in my own head and try to drag others there with me. Email: recklessspeculations@gmail.com Youtube: https://bit.ly/2WjKodY